I need help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2012, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default I need help.

Alright, this is my set.

N68C-S UCC Motherboard
AMD Phenom II x6 2.7 Ghz - 3.2 Turbo Processor
NVIDIA GTX 560Ti
Kingston DDR3 RAM 4gb x 2 (8GB)

I've recently been seeing wierd fps glitches for a few seconds on an arma2 mod, dayz.
I then started to install programs and research what was happening..
Using CPU-Z and CoreTemp I found that my processors was dropping from 2.7 to 1.4 ... and I dont know why?
While I was playing it would sometimes drop to 2.6 and increase to 2.8, but thats not he problem...
I then overclocked the processor to 3.1ghz to see if it would be stable while playing games.. It worked fine for arma2 mod, dayz.
I then start playing guildwars on high, 1600x1200 or even 1920x1200, (which it should be playable on with my spec) and my processor slows down to 1.6 .. :/
I've checked the bias for the 'cool'n'quiet' feature to see if it's slowing down to stay cool and quiet, but it's disabled. So i have no idea why it should be slowing down! >

Slightly angered, but meh- does anyone know how I can fix this problem?
I want a constant high processor speed ... but cant find any solution, overclocking my processor didnt help- i've turned it down now, but I still want to find out why.
__________________

deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: I need help.

There are other power saving features in your bios you need to disable so it will quit doing that. Although, that may not be your problem as the processor is only supposed to drop speeds when it isn't really being used.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: I need help.

Check your power settings in control panel on windows, and make sure balanced or low power isn't selected.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
There are other power saving features in your bios you need to disable so it will quit doing that. Although, that may not be your problem as the processor is only supposed to drop speeds when it isn't really being used.


erm? ._.
I did what the other guy said- and in my bios I didnt see any options to disable anything related to that- a friend of mine said something about voltages but I've forgot now i'll check with him in the morning, I also turned off cool 'n' quiet, and reset my processor to it's default speed of 2.7..

Still the same problem on gw2, and i'm using the software (as shown on the pic) to test stress on the processor instead of a game.
deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: I need help.

I should have Googled your motherboard straight from the start. I don't think it fully supports your CPU which could be the problem. But, you can try setting these too.

On the bottom, make sure CPU Active Control is disabled.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/fulli...hp?image=26919

Make sure all of these settings are on auto.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/fulli...hp?image=26920

Make sure these match as well.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/fulli...hp?image=26921

If that doesn't work, then your board is throttling your CPU due to low VRMs.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I should have Googled your motherboard straight from the start. I don't think it fully supports your CPU which could be the problem. But, you can try setting these too.

On the bottom, make sure CPU Active Control is disabled.
Image | Hardware Secrets

Make sure all of these settings are on auto.
Image | Hardware Secrets

Make sure these match as well.
Image | Hardware Secrets

If that doesn't work, then your board is throttling your CPU due to low VRMs.
I checked what you told me to do bro, it was already set to the options you listed..
So that means i'm screwed? :/
And theres no way to fix it.. and I wont be able to play guildwars2 with good fps when it releases. great.
deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: I need help.

Have you checked your tempertures by chance? I would say your motherboard just can't pump out the power needed for that CPU... Most boards seem to dislike the x6 phenom processors due to a low amount of power phases, AMD boards tend to get stuck with only 4 phases...

Try looking into your motherboard settings and disable the last 2 cores of your processor if possible, and see if that helps some.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Have you checked your tempertures by chance? I would say your motherboard just can't pump out the power needed for that CPU... Most boards seem to dislike the x6 phenom processors due to a low amount of power phases, AMD boards tend to get stuck with only 4 phases...

Try looking into your motherboard settings and disable the last 2 cores of your processor if possible, and see if that helps some.
Ofcourse I have been watching my temperatures lol, I've got the program to watch them in the picture above :/ it's on 'always on top' so it displays the temp even when a game is running, and if not- i'll minimize the game slightly and still keep everything on high. You're saying my mobo cant pump power- cant I change that somehow in the bios?.. And if my CPU is overheating when all 6 cores what sense does it make to disable two of them and make 4 work even harder? ... :/ Surely the CPU temperature will go even higher than what is is going to now before the speed drops down to 1.4 or 1.6 .. :/

Anyway- on a side note- I went into the bios and turned off CPU THERMAL THROTTLE or something like that, It allowed my CPU to get to 62c before AUTO-SWITCHING OFF MY PC.. I spoke to my brother and he says that his cpu gets to 65 while playing games anyway? and 62 isnt bad for gaming? I should only be worried when going over 71c.
deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: I need help.

You have more temps than your CPU, and I said disable the last two cores for a reason, due to power issues that may be present with a crappy motherboard. Also, what brand/model is your PSU?
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 11:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: I need help.

Also, the psu says:

WIN POWER
MODEL: ATX-750
__________________

deviate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.