I know, I know...but i just gotta ask - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2004, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default I know, I know...but i just gotta ask

I know that I'll probably get a lot of bad replys for this same REPEATITIVE post, but I figured I'd ask for my own sake to get a few last opinions before purchasing parts-

AMD Athlon 64 3200+

or

Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHz w/ Hyper Threading

They're both about the same price and I'm trying to build a budget gaming PC. What do you all recommend?

Thanks
__________________

melcher88 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to Von Theron
Default

Everyone will tell you for a gaming pc get the Amd 64. Plus its cheaper by like 5 bucks lol 8-)
__________________

__________________
Von Theron is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default

yea amd 64 for gaming no one will beg to differ.
drprince89 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Nobody at this forum prefers Intel for gaming, in fact if you hang with gamers too much, you'll realize that "Intel" is a dirty word lol.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Once you go amd, well I can't think of a catchy phrase at the moment, but imo, AMD>INTEL.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

I have 3 intels (2.8ht, 2.6ht and 2.26) and have no problems with gaming.
heavywx is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Try using an AMD 64 for gaming, you will love it.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I will quote myself from another thread I responed to: "my first AMD was my last AMD" Maybe it was just my chip, an Athalon XP 2400 266FSB, but it was utter poop.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

I have a few more questions about the AMD to Intel comparison.
What exactly is the difference between the two. How does being a 64 bit help so much? All I've bought is Intel (i guess due to them owning most of the market), but I'm seriously considering AMD. And if I were to get the Intel with hyperthreading instead of the AMD, how much of a decrease will i see in speed (if any) in not only gaming but in other processes?

Thanks again for all who replied
melcher88 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 01:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
an Athalon XP 2400 266FSB, but it was utter poop.
besides the horrible mispelling...I have the Athlon XP 2400+ 266FSB in my system right now....have had it for a while and through 2 different mobo's. I've had no problems with it.

Quote:
I have 3 intels (2.8ht, 2.6ht and 2.26) and have no problems with gaming.
No one said you'd have problems with gaming, we simply say AMD will serve you better for it

And back to the thread owners questions. AMD's do more instructions per clock cycle than Intel, hence why they don't have high numbers in the clockspeed section like Intel. Intel uses 3.4GHz!!! as a marketing strategy basically for those who don't know about AMD, all they would see is an expensive *** 2.4GHz processor and think "what a rip off!". The 64bit is meant to do twice as many instructions, but as of yet there isn't an OS (besides linux I believe) that takes advantage of the 64bit chip and their are no programs out there to fully take advantage of the 64bit chip so I believe it'll be a while before it is the norm. Don't get hung up on a fancy term like 'Hyper-Threading'...once again it's something else that people don't know fully what it is or what it does so it seems like it's a super great option not features anywhere else. I believe it's the Opteron by AMD that has 'Hyper-Threading' like abilities. You wouldn't notice much of a difference. It's all in nanoseconds. Personally I'd get the Socket 939 AMD64, but seeing as how they are expensive as hell....I'd wait until prices go down. You don't need a 64bit chip or the 3.0Ghz 'Hyper-Threading technologically advanced Intel' either to have a bomb machine.

I'd say if you've gone with nothing but Intel then atleast give AMD a try. You'll find that they make some great chips and they are out to make the best CPU's for the customers. Intel is busy marketing and selling their CPU's to people like PeoplePC customers and Dell owners who don't know crap about PC's. AMD seems to take their sh!t serious
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.