I just overclocked my X2 3800+ :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Smile I just overclocked my X2 3800+ :)

Here is all I did:
Changed the FSB to 240 Mhz from 200
Set ram frequency to 200 MHz (5/6)

I didn't change the voltage at all. Under full load, the temp rises to around 42C. Should I try to push it some more / change some things?

I'm using the standard AMD heatsink with 5 fans in my case

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/2...erclock0zz.jpg
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Bravo

wait setting your ram frequency to 200mhz is a 1:1 ratio...... lol ...
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

No, It's 6:5 (or 5:6 forgot the order lol)
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

then that would be 166mhz memory divdier lol

400 = 1:1
333 = 5:6
266 = 2:3
200 = 1:2

or

200 = 1:1
166 = 5:6
133 = 2:3
100 = 1:4

on DFI boards there's a few other dividers

200 = 1:1
180 = 9:10
166 = 5:6
150 = 3:4
143 = 5:7
133 = 2:3
125 =
100 = 1:2

http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=327
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

200 :-D
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

that means your ram will be running at 240mhz but the picture you showed me its running at 200mhz at some 3-3-3-8 timings or what not
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Overclocking by itself doesn't mean anything, you have to make sure that its stable. Get a program called Prime95 and run the Torture Test (Blend). The program will stress your CPU and RAM and make sure they're stable. You might want to run the torture test sometime before you go to bed since you're going to need to run it for atleast 8 hours (unless it fails before that). If the test doesn't fail in 24 hours, then you can manually stop it and claim that its perfectly stable. If the test fails before that, then you have to take a pic and post it on here showing how long it took for the test to fail.

I doubt you're getting 2.4GHz on stock voltage so you probably need to run the test. If the test fails kind of soon, then raise the voltage by a little and try again.

Personally, I stopped the test at 18hours for me since I needed to use my PC for something and the test was hogging the CPU. My test didn't fail, I stopped it, so I'd say that after 16 hours you could stop the test, but if it isn't CRUCIAL that you use the CPU, then don't stop the test until after 24 hours.

What RAM do you have?
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i told him flanker dont worry lol but he seemed to only do it for like 5 minutes cough*noob*cough lol. i even gave him thej link to the dual core prime95

WHY DONT YO UNDERSTAND ITS ON A MEMORY DIVIDER, SOMEONE BACK ME UP HERE

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

OBVIOUSLY its on a memory divider. The HTT is at 240 and the memory is running at 200 Mhz...a 6:5 divider.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 07:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

As prime95 is single threaded, make sure you stress test running two prime95 torture tests simutaneously...otherwise you'll just be stressing 1 core or your overall processor at 50%

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16446
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.