I have a question about why my benchmark is soo low - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 06:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Might want to get a new PSU.... That one is pretty weak. Only 12 Amps on the 12V rail.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

whoa yucky

you should buy a new ps, you should have at least 18A on your +12V bare minimum at usual 30A in total of you have dual.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default

whoa, so it is the power supply? Because i cant think of anything else

Which one should i get, can you guys give me specs (Voltage, Wattage, etc?)

Also, Major Payne, we play in the same server in BF2, remember me, my name is DerKonigSchutze and I usually play in War is Hell #1
KonigSchutze is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

You might try reinstalling/updating your video cards drivers. Faulty installs can cause low scores as you are seeing.
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default

I used driver cleaner to make sure all old drivers are gone then i Installed the new one (latest NVidia)
KonigSchutze is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Get a PSU by OCZ or PC P&C if you can afford it. I got one by antec, which are also good. I'd say get one about 500W or more. Look for a good amperage on the 12V rail, at least in the mid-upper 20's.
This is the one I got. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932
If you can afford it, you couldnt go wrong with this one.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817711002

This may or may not improve your scores, but i would still get a new PSU anyway cuz yours kinda sucks.

off topic: i think i remember playing with you before. There are so many people playing so names get kinda hard to remember Im gonna start playing right now.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Ok, I just bought an Antech TruePower 2.0 480W and I did a benchmark test and it came out to be the same so power supply is not the issue.

Does anyone have any other suggestion? Please, I'm desperate.

Btw, here's the specs of the new Antec:

TPII-480
Dual +12V

I don't see anywhere where it says the amperage of this thing.

This is what I bought:
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Antec...oductDetail.do
KonigSchutze is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

If you post more detailed specs of your entire system it would be easier to help.

Also, what is your score in another bench, like 3dmark 03 or aquamark 3?
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Here's the specs, as detalied as I can give

MSI K8T800 Neo FIS2R Slot 754
AMD 64 3000+ runs about 2Ghz w/ FSB of 800
2*512MB Patriot RAM DDR400 PC3200 CAS 2.5
XFX NVidia GForce 6800
Generic Sound Card
120GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
I/O Magic Dual Layer DVD Burner (No effect...)
Generic Sound Card (No effect...)


Anything that I'm missing here?
KonigSchutze is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Is it a vanilla 6800? Is it AGP? If is is an AGP vanilla 6800, you might not get as high scores as a 6800gt PCI-e. Also what is your score on 3dmark 03 or aquamark3?
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.