I have been getting high temperatures and lock ups during games... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default I have been getting high temperatures and lock ups during games...

I have a GeForce 6800 Ultra, 3500+ with Thermaltake HSF and thermal paste, a Lian-Li v1000 case with 2 12cm built-in fans, and an Asus A8V Deluxe socket 939 motherboard with cool+quiet on. My Cpu starts at something like 43 when I turn on the computer, and gets to 49 eventually idle. It can get to 64 idle during games, and that's on 1024x768. On 1600x1200, games lock up and restart the computer something. I'm not OC'ing at all. Looking at the case temp, I don't think the HSF fan is the problem; maybe the v1000 case don't have sufficient cooling for high resolution and graphic games. I don't know much about working on the inside of a computer, but with enough instructions I guess I can. What can I do to help?

BTW, this computer was custom-made from www.monarchcomputer.com
__________________

chziime is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

First off, i would remove the side panel from the computer and try to run it like that. If that fixes your problem, then you should install some more case fans and try to organize your wires better( like using cable ties to bundle the wires so air flows through the computer easier).

If your computer is locking up during games, it could be related to your video card temperature. Thats why i recommended the above. It's also possible that you need to update your drivers. I know it sounds unlikley, but it's worth checking into.

If that doesn't help then it might be possible that the "cool+quiet" feature on your motherboard is not responding properly and your fan on your processor is simply not blowing enough air to cool the processor. You should be able to check if this feature is enabled/disabled in the BIOS.

Finally, If you bought a custom computer, it should come with some tech support from the Mfg. Try to get in touch with Monarch and see what they'll do for you. - Hope this helps -
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default

Yeah Monarch tied off and organized that wires. How would taking a side off of the case work? That sounds strange. Also, my case does not allow any MORE fans. Cool+Quiet is enabled in my BIOS. I'm sure it's working because when I took it off, Far Cry crashed at 1024x768.
chziime is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Taking the side of your case off allows cooler air to go into the case. With the case closed, your intake fan is it, but if you have hot air problems, opening the case may cool it down. Then you know you have bad air flow.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 09:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default

OK then... which side? The side where the CPU and motherboard is closer to? Should I make such that outside air is going into the opened part?
chziime is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 02:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Like Microbell said, check and make sure the fan is working. How much dust do you have in there? Dust will prevent heat from dissipating so if your computer is dirty.... One thing that works great for clean up is canned air. It will remove the dust from the heatsink. Make sure your PS and video card fans are clean too. 64 is very high for your CPU. I would definitely reseat HSF. Are you using thermal paste or pad? Arctic silver 5 works great and costs only a few bucks.
If your case does not allow for more fans, get the old dremell out and put some holes into it then mount another one (make sure your PS can take on the extra load). You should have both air blowing in (fresh air supply)and air blowing out fans for maximum heat dissipation.

A word of caution. DO NOT use the vaccuum cleaner duster tip to remove dust from your computer. The plastic bristles at the end of the duster create a tremendous amount of static electricity and may damage your components. On that same note, some canned air brands will create moisture. Give it enough time to evaporate before powering up the computer again.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 11:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default

First of all, my computer idles at 43 and eventually 49. 64 is at full load.

Second, if I want to use a thermal pad, I may mess up something. I don't know how to work inside a computer with things like that.
chziime is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Perhaps you could get a friend that is proficient with computers to look at your heatsink and make sure it is seated properly.

The thermal pad that zerozero reffers to is what manufacturers use on the bottom of a heatsink. It's like tape. A pro would use paste because it transfers heat more efficiently.

BTW, have you disabled your cool+quiet option?
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-11-2004, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Default

When I disabled Cool+Quiet, my idle was a little bit higher and Far Cry locked up+restarted the computer at just 1024x768.
chziime is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

check the Error Log.A couple of good tests to check your system
Memtest86-Prime95- Looks like your CPU is overheating from your readings.Look in your bios and check your CPU Voltage it should be at 1.5v.If you tried the AI 10% OC and it failed And you put it back to Default it may not have switched back.In Bios select set defaults and reboot/Disable all the nessesary Hardware your not using as usual.Also check your BIOS and Chipset versions for updates.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.