I Hate Windows but... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2005, 04:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Depends on your pirated copy.

If you don't buy windows you have no right to ever ***** about it, because the problems were likely caused by it being pirated.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 07:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

i have an ilegal copy well depends how you look at it, my brother in law works for a company that put xp pro on machines he stole me a copy but kept the keygen so it wouldent get back to him,so i rang microsoft told them i had an original disc and they gave me a keygen
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Well i have a VERY early version of windows thats pirated and it really needs some of these security updates so i just throw sp2 on there and im good to go i wish i had norton ghost though that way i could buy windows xp pro and install it then make a back up.... be so much easier
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 64
Default SP2 is good

hi,this is a great forum...i had a similar question before i i got help
my pc started to fail..[couldn't get windows update]..,,i was advice to reformat hard drive and reinstall windows..good,,but i was told to "autostream" my windows and SP2...so the idea is reformat hard drive and reinstall winxp and SP2 [on the same cd] to me it was a big task..
when i took my pc to the tech...he did the same.he told me SP2 was reinstalled also. after that i make an image from acronics true image....
this is the link when i ask for help x..http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...+cant+download
acuariano is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 01:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
7. Turn off system restore, it is a waste of time/space. It slows down your computer, if your computer gets infected with viruses, the virus will embed itself in the restore files.
System restore has saved my booty several times .. but that was when I had all my personal stuff (documents, unzipper files, music, etc. - irreplaceable stuff) and Windows on the same HD. If you have Windows and your stuff on separate hard drives, reinstalling Windows if you screw something up isn't so much of a hassle, and your stuff is safe. If they're on the same HD, you might want to leave system restore on and minimize the size to 2 or 3%. I never though of a virus embedding itself in your restore files though.
Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
8. Use Mozilla Firefox.
Yes! You won't believe how clunkish other browsers are once you're used to Firefox. Especially the awful SBC Yahoo! browser that the rest of my family uses .. Not to mention the security and all. My favorite feature is the 'find' bar that shows up at the bottom instead of making a window over the page that you're trying to pick through ..

EDIT: Also, isn't a 600mb pagefile a little small? This page recommends a pagefile size 1.5 times that of your RAM. And I'm assuming that keeping the size fixed at 600mb increases performance by keeping the computer from resizing it all the time?
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 01:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

1. Like people have said above, SP2 isn't bad on a fresh install only...infact it seems to have made it harder for things to get in because it's firewall is pretty decent.

2. Firefox sucks...I don't know why people recommend it up the ***, use Avant browser....it's similar to IE except for one major difference, it doesn't suck...has a good built in pop up blocker as well as Ad blocker, is very easy to use, also isn't 'clunk' and tabs all the windows down in the bottom of one big window.

3. Avast anti-virus is free, doesn't use up a lot of resources and is also quite handy for keeping away unwanted crap in your computer...but that doesn't really have to do with 'optimizing' per se...but hey, figured I'd mention it
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 05:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ilovesocks
System restore has saved my booty several times............

EDIT: Also, isn't a 600mb pagefile a little small? This page recommends a pagefile size 1.5 times that of your RAM. And I'm assuming that keeping the size fixed at 600mb increases performance by keeping the computer from resizing it all the time?

You really dont need system restore. It is a big waste of time and space. IF they have a problem with their computer, that is why we are here.

So your saying that If I had 2gb I should have 3gb of pagefile? In my opinion. If I had 2gb of ram, I would chop the page file down to 10mb. I would of completely cut it down to 0, but windows cries and whines when you do that.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
2. Firefox sucks...I don't know why people recommend it up the ***, use Avant browser
People recommend it because it's simply the best brower ever made. I don't know if you realize, but Avant Browser is just like a reskin of IE, it uses the same core, and the same basic interface. The reason we all use firefox is BECAUSE it uses gecko and not the IE core. It is much less suseptable to spyware being installed via browsing the internet. 99.9% of exploits and programs written to trick IE will still run in AvantBrowser
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:12 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
You really dont need system restore. It is a big waste of time and space. IF they have a problem with their computer, that is why we are here.

So your saying that If I had 2gb I should have 3gb of pagefile? In my opinion. If I had 2gb of ram, I would chop the page file down to 10mb. I would of completely cut it down to 0, but windows cries and whines when you do that.
Ah, I see. Good point. Was I right on why you should keep the pagefile size fixed?
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:52 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yeah, that was right.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.