i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2010, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default help, not sure if this is normal performance for GTS 250 SLI

3dmark06:
Dual
Single

It seems to be pretty low for two GTS 250's, and the improvement over single is really tiny. Is there a bottleneck somewhere in my configuration THAT bad? Also, there are two bridges on my cards, which bridge am i supposed to use?

NOTE:
-Power supply is Corsair TX850W
-Both cards are MSI N250GTS TwinFrozr 1G OC GeForce GTS 250 1GB 256-bit DDR3
-Both cards are detected by Windows 7 and SLI is enabled in NVIDIA Control Panel
-I used the bridge closest to the video outputs
__________________

digadaga is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Somethings wrong with the Futuremark site as your links won't load. How about posting a couple screenshots instead
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Sites up now \Slay

Well your cpu scores only 1800. Thats a bottleneck for sure. It's a X2 5000+

Are you sure you've got sli setup right? Your scores are 300 off.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

yeah sli is setup, i even tried the different sli frame rendering modes--no difference.

my motherboard's chipset says nforce4 in CPU-Z. on the box it says nforce560. i guess i'll just write off the problem as an inferior mobo and cpu. nevertheless, i still would think i'd get SOME kind of improvement, but in-game (left 4 dead 2, dragon age) the performance is either the same or even WORSE in some cases.
digadaga is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Wow, dude that's not cool. Sorry about the issue. I agree with you that it 's the mobo, so long as your sli bridge is functioning, if you have an extra, switch out to make sure. The reason I say this is because I got shipped a defective sli bridge and had the same performance problems, because of bandwidth usage between the PCI bus. I switched to another sli bridge and voila, scores went up to normal.
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Maybe because your motherboard only supports (8x/8x Sli). (I think all nforce560 are) So you end up losing bandwidth on the first card which is not ideal for SLi setups.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
Maybe because your motherboard only supports (8x/8x Sli). (I think all nforce560 are) So you end up losing bandwidth on the first card which is not ideal for SLi setups.
I doubt very seriously that is causing his problems, as very few cards are actually bottlenecked by PCI-E 2.0 8X
The only one I can really think of showing any difference would be cards as high as the 5870 and higher, or dual PCB cards.
It's more likely that it would be his CPU/Mobo doing the bottleneck, or a bad SLI bridge.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

It's the X2 5000 that's really holding him back. With a single 9800GTX and my q9300 I could hit about 16k in 3dm06.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by orihS ‪‪‪Shiro View Post
I doubt very seriously that is causing his problems, as very few cards are actually bottlenecked by PCI-E 2.0 8X
The only one I can really think of showing any difference would be cards as high as the 5870 and higher, or dual PCB cards.
It's more likely that it would be his CPU/Mobo doing the bottleneck, or a bad SLI bridge.
Dont forget this is pci-e 1.0 a lot less bandwidth then 2.0. I would say this could be your problem.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 12:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: i don't think this is normal for GTS 250 SLI

Thats still 2gb of bandwidth upstream and downstream, theoretically.
__________________

__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gtx 275 sli problem! KShirza1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-24-2009 02:06 PM
SLI Help please. Kozar927 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-14-2008 11:31 PM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
XFX GTX 260 SLI Issue PH3N0M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-22-2008 01:41 AM
Need Help With my SLI SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-18-2008 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.