I don't know much, but did I do this right? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2008, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Park City, Kansas
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to cdw1981
Default I don't know much, but did I do this right?

I have had many PCs over the last 8 yrs, and now I have a mobo capable of overclocking. I just don't know what all I can do (without killing my mobo or cpu) or really how. My info is as follows:

CPU: Intel p4 socket 478, 1.5 ghz
MOBO: PCCHIPS M947LU rev 1.3
RAM: 512 DDR PC2700 (166 mhz)
BIOS: American Megatrends vers. 7, dated 4/2/01

All I did in BIOS was changed my "cpu over-clock frequency" from 100 to 120,
and changed my "cpu/dram ratio from 1:1 (100mhz) to 3:5 (201mhz).

I ran CPUZ and noticed a decent change.
CPU from 1.5ghz to 1.8ghz, bus speed went from 100mhz to 120mhz, and my rated FSB went from 400mhz to 480mhz.
My DRam changed from 166mhz frequency to 200mhz and the CAS# Latencey went from 2.5 clocks to 3.0 clocks.

(All this info I got off of CPUZ b.t.w.)
I tried to up my cpu o-c even more, but then system wouldn't load, even after trying to lower the cpu/dram ratio below 200mhz.

Am I wrong, or have I reached the limit of my current system configuration? I need to know. Thanx-Curtis
__________________

cdw1981 is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: I don't know much, but did I do this right?

go read through an overclocking guide, you will need to up the voltage by SMALL increments when your CPU becomes unstable, or you may need to loosen your ram.
__________________

lukas is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: I don't know much, but did I do this right?

Like Lukas said you got to read. Learn the terms and definitions it'll make ocing alot easier once you know how each setting affects your oc and/or FSB
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: I don't know much, but did I do this right?

Quote:
CAS# Latencey went from 2.5 clocks to 3.0 clocks.
that's worse :| lower is better.

go read, like the others have said. oh yea, and it's best to run the ram : cpu at 1:1
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: I don't know much, but did I do this right?

wait ignore me i misread!!

lol... ya leave your ram at 1:1... that small amount of ram mhz doesnt justify a latency change
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.