I cant my E6320 past 2.94 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2007, 03:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
ste better be careful with the volts. ds3s nb loves to overheat...
???

Temps are fine...

System temp reads 30C when CPU is stressed...


Room is like 73F.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 04:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

well i got it to 3.29 but i fail orthos really fast so im just gonna back it down some
__________________

__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 04:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Quote:
Originally Posted by raiders_best View Post
well i got it to 3.29 but i fail orthos really fast so im just gonna back it down some
WHy give up so quickly?

You have the ability to adjust Vcore, MCH Voltage, FSB Voltage, RAM Voltage, Primary RAM timmings and Secondary RAM Timmings for a reason..

Point is, there are alot of possible combinations of those settings and you should be able to make it work. You just gotta play around. Overclocking is a very tedious process.

What are your settings now? (Including Max Load temp at current settings)
Ste is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 06:15 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Settings are now:
FSB 470
Ram +.3
FSB +.3
MCH +.2
Vcore 1.4125
39 idle
57 load
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 06:19 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Uh, hello, RAM Timmings?
Well, I honestly don't know what a standard OC is for that Chip.

But you have some room left on the Max Load Temp, and your Vcore isn't Particularly high.

I say try some more Vcore and Maybe, bump the MCH to + .3.

Its not really that hard I mean. Go from 470 FSB to 475 and up the Vcore one notch then test for stability..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 06:42 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

ram is at
5-7-7-19
i never changed them to the rated 5-5-5-15
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 06:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

You should, There are susposed to run those timmings at FSB of 400 (If its DDR2 800, I am assumming). Which your are on now. So why not see if they do what they are susposed to do..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Hey Ste,

Would you say SMP, is better for testing stability, than Orthos or Prime95?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Yes I would.

I have ran the orthos Gromacs test for 45 Minutes at times and had no Problems. I then close it out, fire up SMP folding and like 10 or so minutes in it either Blue screens and restarts or states that Gromacs can no longer continue, deletes the WU and starts another WU.

Im not saying you should Use SMP Folding exclusively.

What I do is use Orthos or StressCPU2 for a short test. Between 30 and 45 Minutes, if there are no errors or Blue screens I then switch to SMP Folding. Let it run for a couple of days. If there are no Errors or Restarts in that Time I deem those Settings Stable.

A great example of this is when I was Clocked at 3.41 Ghz. It past every Stress test, I could Game while SMP Folding, I could Do anything while it was folding. BUT! when I left it alone to fold by itself for hours it would Error out or restart.. Thats when I started from square one. Testing 3.303 Ghz now.

I think StressCPU2 is more intense than Prime95 or OCCT. But I use Both Orthos and StressCPU2.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 07:27 PM   #30 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

I didn't know you could game while SMP. I always avoided it, thinking it would mess up the SMP, or slow it down.

Also is it ok, to be doing stuff while Orthos is running?...because I do Orthos too, but avoided doing anything while it's running, thinking it might mess up the stress test.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 5 06-06-2007 06:08 PM
torrents cant get past 2kb/s suicide007 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-30-2007 11:07 PM
difference between e6600 and e6320 siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-22-2007 12:39 AM
Can't get past 2.5Ghz on C2D Nechen Overclocking and Modding 5 04-11-2007 05:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.