I cant my E6320 past 2.94 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2007, 07:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

-1 @ software Overclocking. (Please for the love of any god, don't make me explain!!)

Again, I got a bad one..

I think you will find that its not completly stable unless you play with all the voltages.. (Complete stability is indefinite stability doing anything while SMP Folding is running or just SMP FOlding alone)
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 07:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
-1 @ software Overclocking. (Please for the love of any god, don't make me explain!!)
Software overclocking is THE WAY TO GO for benchmarking. Just go into the bios, set the CPU at 1.5v, and then clock it up in windows, superpi-ing as you go.

Takes alot less time, and you can bench stuff that won't necessarily POST.

Obviously my 24/7 OC is set in the BIOS, but for non-24/benching, software
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Yup, for suicide screen shots en such its fine.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 08:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Running orthos right now with the temps never over 56c ( although only runing for 10 min)

i will run it for 2 hours while playin HALO 3 beta
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 10:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

SMP Folding is a better test of stabilty.

And its useful to society also.

You can use orthos for a short test then switch to SMP Folding.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

hey wat is that fps? frames per second?
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 09:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

^You are correct. It's also known as "first person shooter", when talking about games. Although I'm not sure why, it says FPS 420 in first post.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 10:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

CPU temps are fine. Mine is 30-35 idle, and 53-56 under heavy load (3x Prime95). E6300 @ 2.86GHz. Scythe Infinity.

Run three instances of Prime95 and you won't be able to play a game smoothly, at least not on my system.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 11:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Playing games while stress testing is probably not the best of plans, as the gae will take CPU time from the stress testing program. 56C is fine to load at, my CPU loads at about 60C on each core and it is at that 24/7. It hits 75C on each core if I run TAT for ~30 seconds.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 02:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

ste better be careful with the volts. ds3s nb loves to overheat...
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 5 06-06-2007 06:08 PM
torrents cant get past 2kb/s suicide007 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-30-2007 11:07 PM
difference between e6600 and e6320 siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-22-2007 12:39 AM
Can't get past 2.5Ghz on C2D Nechen Overclocking and Modding 5 04-11-2007 05:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.