I cant my E6320 past 2.94 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2007, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default I cant my E6320 past 2.94

I want to see if I can get a bit higher.
My settings are:
FSB + 0.1
MCH + 0.1
CPU vultage 1.3875
FPS 420
Temps:
34c idle
56c load
Could any one help me out?
__________________

__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

if you want to go higher then up your CPU voltage...When I was OCing my E6400 I had the voltage up to 1.5 but lowered it to around 1.4 right now.

That's most likely what's holdin gyou back right now. But if you do try to up the voltage watch your load temps cuz 56c is kinda high for the idle being around 34c (my E6400 @ 3.2Ghz is ~35C Idle ~45C Load)

goodluck
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Yes the load temp seems to be rather high. Have you got after market cooling or just the stock cooler?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

I have arctic freezer 7 pro cooling
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

hmm...that's the exact same as mine. Are you using Artic Silver 5 for a thermal paste? That could help if you aren't using it or if it hasn't cured yet.

Also, my case has a 250mm fan on the side and 2x120mm fans and I'm sure that helps keep my temps down...maybe your case doesn't circulate as well...idk.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 06:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

maby i will try resetting the heatsink/fan
because my case has 2x120mm in the front, 2 fans on the side, 1 up top, 2 in the back, and the Cpu fan
__________________
E6320 @ 3.290
8800GTS 320mb
DS3
G-skill NQ's 2x1gb
Samsung 19in
XCLI 500w
WD 250GB SATA
Thermaltake Xaser 3 full tower
3DMark06 10667


raiders_best is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Run through this Guide, see if it suggests anything you missed.
Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1
Ste is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

Quote:
Originally Posted by raiders_best View Post
I want to see if I can get a bit higher.
My settings are:
FSB + 0.1
MCH + 0.1
CPU vultage 1.3875
FPS 420
Temps:
34c idle
56c load
Could any one help me out?
is that a 420FSB you mean?
I don't think you need that much in the way for MCH and FSB volts for that.

Stick the CPU volts to 1.425v, and those temps are fine.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 06:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

FSB Voltage is more important than MCH Voltage when you get about/around a 25-30% Overclock. (Or Higher of course)

****, my FSB Voltage is + .3 Now, and I am only at 3.258 Ghz. (Still stability testing though)

Ive been Keeping a log of my OC "struggles" :
1.
SMP Folding Stable

Clock: (334 X 9) 3.006 Ghz
Vcore: 1.45
FSB: + .1
MCH: + .1
RAM: + .2



2.
30 Min Orthos Stable (Gromacs test)
Clock: (344 X 9) 3.069 Ghz
Vcore: 1.45625
FSB: + .2
MCH: + .1
RAM: + .3



3.
30 Min Orthos Stable ( Gromacs test) AND SMP folding Stable
Clock: (351 X 9) 3.159 GHz
Vcore: 1.4625
FSB: + .2
MCH: + .1
RAM: + .3


4.
45 Min Orthos Stable ( Gromacs test) (Currently testing for SMP Folding stability)
Clock: (362 X 9) 3.258 Ghz
Vcore: 1.4856
FSB: + .3
MCH: + .2
RAM: + .3


The concensus is that I just got a bad OCing E6600...
Ste is offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 07:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: I cant my E6320 past 2.94

uuhh... I've done 400FSB with no voltage increace on MCH or FSB?!?

that is in windows though, I find it hard to get it to POST much above 3.2GHz
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing E6320 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 5 06-06-2007 06:08 PM
torrents cant get past 2kb/s suicide007 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-30-2007 11:07 PM
difference between e6600 and e6320 siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-22-2007 12:39 AM
Can't get past 2.5Ghz on C2D Nechen Overclocking and Modding 5 04-11-2007 05:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.