I can't find mem dividers in my bios - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 01:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

ok i just went in my bios and checked and that mem clock index value is just changing the mhz from 200 to 166 and so on and raising it to 216, 233, 250 and so on?? so is that the dividers i was expecting a number like 4:5 or 3:4 or something
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 01:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

if you set it to 166, then you're running a 5:6. If you do 122, it's a 2:3 divider. If you set it to 100, you'll be at 1:2, and so on.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

oooo

ok so 200 would be 4:5 if im at 250fsbs on my cpu
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

anyone
__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Yeah, if your HTT is at 250, a 4:5 would be appropriate.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 05:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Where does the HT multi come into all of this? I can see that you'd want your memory speed to stay below 250MHz with DDR400 ram, but what about the HT bus speed? What is that?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 05:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Thats the HyperTransport, I don't know much details on what it actually does, but I think it is the bridge that the CPU and RAM communicate on. Your HT speed is determined by the HT multi (default 5) times your HTT. So if your HT multi is 5 and your HTT is 200, then your HT is 1000MHz. You can go a LITTLE over that if you want, but it's usually best to stay at 1000 or under.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 05:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

thought so...
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 08:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
Here it is:

Inside DRAM Configuration, it's Memclock Index Value (Mhz).
aha! thank you, thats exactly what i needed to know, now i can try my overclocking again..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

lol wow that helped alot of people i just thought i was completely retarded
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.