I Cant Do It! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default I Cant Do It!

I am so frustrated. I have been trying for the last week to break 9500 in 3dmark05. I have had my 7800gtx clocked as high as 524/1406 and I get crazy artifacting, but the scores seem to go down after I pass 516/1386. I am topped out on my GPU and CPU with this score. Are there any other tweaks I can use to get my 3 points?
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/pr...jectId=1967069
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

use liquid nitrogen?
upgrade?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

My person opinion and suggestion is for you to stop worrying about some dumb numbers and realise you have a killer system whether you have those 3 points or not.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

why would be want to upgrade when he wants to reach 9500 with this 7800gtx?

is heat the reason you cant go any higher?

I'd just take a stab at it and say keep that thing really cool. If you dont have any other means to, just open up windows at night, get some fans blowing on it/around it to keep it air cooled as good as possible.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
My person opinion and suggestion is for you to stop worrying about some dumb numbers and realise you have a killer system whether you have those 3 points or not.
i agree. it's three points - that's like nothing in a real world experience. as long as your computer can get a high score in 3dmark05 and play the current games, then i don't see why you need another 3 points.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Try using Desktop Lite.

Quote:
"Desktop Lite is intended to be a cut-down version of Windows Explorer employing a simpler interface, and improved memory usage, whilst still providing access to everything you need such as the system tray, short-cut links to My Documents, Recycle Bin, Desktop Icons, Start Menu etc, and also the usual taskbar buttons.

Desktop Lite will not be supporting 3rd party software such as clock replacements, nor will it support additional toolbars. To do so will defeat the whole object of this light-weight shell replacement."

Enjoy!

Steve (of ATT fame)
http://www.nymtec.com/?q=taxonomy/term/21
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

thanks trotter, ill try that when i get home. and to all the people that are like "its just three points" or whatever. i set my goals and i reach them, i dont settle for something less no matter if its a half of a point. if you wanted to come in first at something, you wouldnt settle for second would you?
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 01:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Not if it was some sport or competition but this is 3dmark05
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NeedAcpu
Not if it was some sport or competition but this is 3dmark05
yeah honestly. i'm not trying to start a war or anything, but honestly, its 3 points for a computer benchmarker.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 05:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

ok thats great. i try and complete my goals, and this is my goal. its not like this is my life, i just want to do this. you think powerful people get where they are by falling short. No, no matter how short they are, they work at it until its complete.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.