I am new to OC'ing. What should I OC to?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SPL Tech

In Runtime
I just got a new custom computer and I am possibly looking to overclock it. But first of all what exactly is overclocking? I understand the basics of what it is, but I would like a little more detailed information of what it involves. Secondly, what do I all need to overclock my system? What do I need to do to overclock my system? And what is a SAFE speed to over clock to? I donÂ’t want to burn anything up. I have my caseÂ’s temperature sensor attacked to my CPUÂ’s heatsink, and on average it reads 70 degrees F. It never goes over 85 degrees F.

This is what I have:

Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400 - Retail

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 1066MHz FSB LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6400 - Retail

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Keyboard: Sunbeam EL-KB-07SL 2-Tone PS/2 Wired Standard Illuminated Keyboard - Retail

PSU: ENERMAX Whisper II EG565P-VE FMA(24P) ATX12V 535W Power Supply - Retail

Video card: Open Box: connect3D 3056 Radeon X1900XT 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - OEM

Monitor: Hanns·G JW-199DPB Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail

HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Floppy drive: MITSUMI Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive - OEM

Case: APEVIA (ASPIRE) MX-PLEASURE-BK Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case ATX 500W dual fan w/ automatic fan speed control. Connector 20 + 4 pin Power Supply - Retail

Optical drive: LITE-ON 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE Model SHW160P6S05 - OEM

Simpler version:
CPU: Core Two Duo 2.13 GHz. E6400
RAM: 2 GB. Corsair 800 MHz. XMS2 DDR2
Graphics: X1900XT 512MB Connect3D
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
PSU: 535 watt Enermax Whisper II