Hyperthreading my CPU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2007, 02:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

This thread made me LOL at first, get angry second, and then get a headache third.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 04:11 PM   #22 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
close your eyes and wish for magic...i guess.
what are you talking about?
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Do you have ANY idea what you are talking about? Do you even understand what hyperthreading is?

you bullys

LOL
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 04:30 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
you bullys

LOL
Haha, yea they weren't being the nicest dudes ever.

Then again, that was pretty funny.

A kid wanted to know if he could "hyperthread" his CPU.

th4t m4d3 m3 L0lZ
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 07:26 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
This thread made me LOL at first, get angry second, and then get a headache third.
WOW I dont care
__________________
............nub
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 07:32 PM   #25 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidkeeper91 View Post
WOW I dont care
I do.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:08 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

I wonder if i can hyperthread my CPU?

LOL.... jk... had to say it....

and whoever asked about c2d's not being hyperthreaded... this is correct... because the c2d's are already dual-core... i guess that hyperthreaded thing was just a trend b4 the dual-cores came out (its a hypothesis)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:21 PM   #27 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I wonder if i can hyperthread my CPU?

LOL.... jk... had to say it....

and whoever asked about c2d's not being hyperthreaded... this is correct... because the c2d's are already dual-core... i guess that hyperthreaded thing was just a trend b4 the dual-cores came out (its a hypothesis)
lol it wasnt a trend... it was compensation for having only 1 core... it basically tricked the cpu into thinking there were two cores so it could do multiple things at once or something of the sort
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:25 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
lol it wasnt a trend... it was compensation for having only 1 core... it basically tricked the cpu into thinking there were two cores so it could do multiple things at once or something of the sort
bad choice of words.. eh?

oh well...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
bad choice of words.. eh?

oh well...
but it explains it close enough
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 10:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Hyperthreading my CPU

cmon boys.
Hyper-threading - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu Hookster264 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-11-2007 01:25 AM
CPU questions Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-08-2007 02:40 PM
cpu temp spiking advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-07-2007 10:49 AM
upgrade on GPU, CPU, PSU kur0suto New Systems | Building and Buying 31 09-06-2007 03:57 PM
what is hyperthreading? krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 34 07-17-2007 04:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.