Hyperthreading? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2009, 04:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

That true. You should definitely turn off all of those random useless processes in the background that the manufacturer puts on your laptop. Just uninstall anything that you didn't install yourself and isn't necessary to run your computer.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 06:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Go to administrative tools in control panel and then the services panel and turn off any unnecessary services. Then go to the run dilagoue and type in msconfig turn on no GUI boot and stop any unnecessary programs from running.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

This sounds pretty cool, a friend told me this is only possible on Intel processors. Since I have an AMD, I've been wondering if there is any equivalent to this for AMD processors?
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

If I remember correctly, AMD doesn't have anything like this.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
This sounds pretty cool, a friend told me this is only possible on Intel processors. Since I have an AMD, I've been wondering if there is any equivalent to this for AMD processors?
No there isnt.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Ok, thanks for letting me know guys.
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

"Hyper-Threading" is just a trademarked term from Intel that means simultaneous multithreading. I know IBM has used this in the past, I'm not sure if anyone else has. It's not a new technology, Intel's just the only one to include it in desktop procs.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

I think some people are getting the impression that this is like a software upgrade that will allow hyperthreading. It is simply a technology built into P4s and now the i7s that allows your processor cores to be seen as 2 cores each to help with multithreading.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 04:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Send a message via MSN to FrozenSilent
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Yeah well I actually thought that it was like a modification of the software that split processing to make the speed of processing faster. I never thought it'd be a physical thing that was built in. I thought that there was some way you could modify it using software.

-FrozenSilent
FrozenSilent is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 01:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Well there was some sort of bug found with Hyperthreading in the P4 that allowed someone to perform some sort of buffer overrun or something similar... I can't really remember it has been so friggen long...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the i7 literally have 8 processors with hyperthreading asemione3161 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 01-13-2009 09:00 AM
Hyperthreading my CPU cichlidkeeper91 Overclocking and Modding 54 09-18-2007 03:17 AM
what is hyperthreading? krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 34 07-17-2007 04:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.