Hyperthreading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2009, 06:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Send a message via MSN to FrozenSilent
Exclamation Hyperthreading?

Hi,

Today I was looking around the forums being a new member and all and I saw a topic that sparked my interest in Hyperthreading.

So I searched hyper threading on wikipedia and apparently it can improve the performance of your processor by 15~30%! WOW, that's quite a bit of extra FPS in gaming.

Quote:
According to Intel the first implementation only used 5% more die area than the comparable non-hyperthreaded processor, but the performance was 15Ė30% better.
Sweet. So I was wondering if my Intel Core 2 Duo which already has 2 REAL cores could be hyper threaded to like 4 cores? I saw in another thread that intel i7 which has 4 real cores can hyper thread to 8 cores? So can I double my cores and increase performance by 15% without harming my processor? If so how? And what program do I use? I heard my friend hyperthreaded his Intel pentium processor by himself (No not pentium D) with some random program. He said it sucked and there was barely any performance but I'd like to give it a try for myself. Much help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

-FrozenSilent
__________________

FrozenSilent is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 07:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

open task manager. go to performance tab. Look at cpu usage history and it will show you if you have it on or not. If it shows 2 it is off if it shows 4 it is on.

It is turned on and off in bios. It should be on by default.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 07:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Send a message via MSN to FrozenSilent
Exclamation Re: Hyperthreading?

Um, I'm not quite sure what you are talking about cause I'm using Windows XP and I only see two boxes. I'll put up a screen shot though.

Thanks,

-FrozenSilent
FrozenSilent is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
open task manager. go to performance tab. Look at cpu usage history and it will show you if you have it on or not. If it shows 2 it is off if it shows 4 it is on.

It is turned on and off in bios. It should be on by default.
Really? I thought HT died with the P4 and was only brought back with i7.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Send a message via MSN to FrozenSilent
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

I hope not cause I wanna try this out :P My friend says it sucks but that's cause the rest of his parts suck too. He got a new computer and he doesn't have to hyper thread. It runs any game fine.
FrozenSilent is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

HT isnt available on Core 2 series or the Pentium D (except for the 840 model) and didnt come back till i7; you wont be able to activate HT on your Core 2 because it physically cannot support it, since intel felt it wasnt needed at the time.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Send a message via MSN to FrozenSilent
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
HT isnt available on Core 2 series or the Pentium D (except for the 840 model) and didnt come back till i7; you wont be able to activate HT on your Core 2 because it physically cannot support it, since intel felt it wasnt need at the time.
Okay then thanks anyway, I just need little tweaks here and there that are safe and won't screw up any lifetime of my parts. I'm using a laptop and cannot currently afford ot replace it because of damage.
FrozenSilent is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

yeahhh i was gonna say that the core 2 duo's and quads don't have HT hahahahah welcome to tech-forums!
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Ya hyperthreading is not something a program does. It is a physical feature.

Unfortunately for your laptop, there is probably not much, if anything, that you can do to improve performance.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 04:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Hyperthreading?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinscher View Post
Ya hyperthreading is not something a program does. It is a physical feature.

Unfortunately for your laptop, there is probably not much, if anything, that you can do to improve performance.
although i have found that, while you can't physically improve the performance by hardware standards...you can keep the OS clean with the amount of programs running, and certain tweaks that will dramatically increase performance as far as load times and the like
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the i7 literally have 8 processors with hyperthreading asemione3161 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 01-13-2009 09:00 AM
Hyperthreading my CPU cichlidkeeper91 Overclocking and Modding 54 09-18-2007 03:17 AM
what is hyperthreading? krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 34 07-17-2007 04:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.