Hyper tx3 problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2011, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Send a message via MSN to jackoftrades
Exclamation Hyper tx3 problem

Hello all, my issue is with this new cpu cooler i got(coolmaster hyper TX3) when i install it and boot my system it shut off within 15 secs, i assume it is because the cpu is over heating, so i put my stock cooler back on and runs fine, i have replaced the thermal paste with the paste that came with it and followed the instruction to the letter, so i dont know if i just wasted my money on this piece of junk or if maybe something else could be an issue? i have read some reviews and all have been good so idk wat to do. please help! thanks
__________________

jackoftrades is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Hyper tx3 problem

Is that power cord to the Fan on a 4-pin to your board? should be called pwm_fan.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-20-2011, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Hyper tx3 problem

Make sure the fan is plugged in and turning (it could be stuck).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Send a message via MSN to jackoftrades
Default Re: Hyper tx3 problem

sorry for the long wait on the reply, the fan moves for a bit, i i know it runs but as for being plugged into a 4 pin no, it is a 4 pin connector but i have it plugged into a 3 pin. Now that you brought that up makes sense, but it didnt come with one and my bored doesnt have a 4 pin, so i guess ill have to buy one, thanks for the help:P
jackoftrades is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Send a message via MSN to jackoftrades
Default Re: Hyper tx3 problem

si i have done some reading and from what i have read is that a 3 pin and 4 pin are interchageable, so i dont understand how if i plug this 4pin fan into my 3 pin connector it would be a problem, when i plug it in the fan spins then stops then the comp. would shutdown.
jackoftrades is offline  
Old 04-03-2011, 08:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Hyper tx3 problem

It sounds like the fan is bad.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new PC for hyper-v zzzzzz New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-23-2009 06:32 AM
Hyper-transport troubl3dmind Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 09-28-2007 05:11 AM
Hyper Big Problem! ubeyou Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 10-30-2005 03:37 PM
Hyper 6 Vs. XP 120 cthanchan Overclocking and Modding 1 08-14-2005 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.