HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2011, 05:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

Figured it out. At somepoint when installing the rest of the components after the CPU i must of knocked the heat sink, it was slightly loose with a bit if a woble. Doesn't get over 60c now.

Thanks for the help though people.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 06:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

I'm glad you figured it out
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 09:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I'm glad you figured it out
update:

Okay it's just about okay for games, GTA4 is really cpu intensive and afer about 3 hours it was at 70c. I'm just about okay with that.

But i am trying to learn bullet, and when i Bake stuff it uses 90+cpu and it just sky rockets to 85c in just a few minutes. Not happy with that at all, especially as it would be like that for hours until blender is done. I have checked the heatsink, it is definitely on, and even if i push it down hard with my own hand it still gets to 83c in a few mins.

So, i want cooler reccomendations. The only requirements are the obvious really, it must fit on my P8P67 with my GSkill reaper RAM. And i don't want one where i have to take the mobo out and disconnect everything (I'm too lazy to build my PC more than once in a month ) I just want to be able to take the old one off, and clip it on the normal way with everything still in place.

I'll spend up to £50.

It HAS to be able to keep my CPU happy (70c-ish at most) with hours of 90+ utilisation.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 10:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmanmx View Post
And i don't want one where i have to take the mobo out and disconnect everything (I'm too lazy to build my PC more than once in a month ) I just want to be able to take the old one off, and clip it on the normal way with everything still in place.
That's the deal breaker. Your not going to get a "good" heatsink that clips to your mobo.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 11:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

You could always carefully trim the mobo tray
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 12:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
That's the deal breaker. Your not going to get a "good" heatsink that clips to your mobo.
Fine.. it was worth the try.

I guess i have no option then. Fire me up some good heatsinks that i can reasonably expect to fit. The cheaper the better, as long as it's sufficient. I dont need an absolutely amazing one, i'm not after -212c. Just cool enough so i don't damage my processor or blue screen after hours fo high usage
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 01:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

This is well within your budget and it should install easily. It's not the best but it is better than stock.
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro rev 2 Socket 775, 1156.. | Ebuyer.com

This Zalman heatsink is better than the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro but it costs alot more.
Zalman CNPS10X QUIET Socket LGA1366, LGA1156, LGA1155.. | Ebuyer.com

This is a good heatsink but its larger. You may have to only use memory slots 2 & 4.
Thermaltake Frio CPU Cooler - Aria Technology
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 02:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

Used to have Freezer 7 Pro.. but not the new one to fit my socket

Zalman is looking like a good bet. I think i'll go with that.

Btw, i have some Zalman Grease that comes in a little glass bottle, not sure if its any good, is it worth me getting some new thermal grease ?
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 02:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

I would go with some Tuniq TX-2
Tuniq TX-2 High Performance Thermal Grease | Ebuyer.com

We have a Thermal Paste Showdown posted. And remember you only need to use a little paste, most people use way to much paste.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 03:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HWMonitor and BIOS reporting totally different temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I would go with some Tuniq TX-2
Tuniq TX-2 High Performance Thermal Grease | Ebuyer.com

We have a Thermal Paste Showdown posted. And remember you only need to use a little paste, most people use way to much paste.
TX-2 it is. And yeah, i know that much fortunately
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new upgrade problem with temps on HWmonitor mattk1045 System Upgrades 34 08-08-2010 03:54 AM
Where does HWMonitor access your CPU temps? Cryora New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-22-2010 01:10 AM
Reporting Software - reporting Tool mchunter Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-21-2008 08:39 AM
WTH!! BIOS temps 24 degrees? san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-08-2007 04:00 AM
BIOS effect temps? Nubius Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-13-2005 03:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.