how's this setup? i'm new =P

Status
Not open for further replies.

BuBBaCrXSiRT

Beta member
what's goin on peoples...i'm new to this building stuff but a friend of mine built a computer for me....i'm gonna use this for a lot of music editing and play some games here and there along with photoshop and what not...please give me your thoughts and comments..thanks!

Intel P4 2.6GHz w/800MHz Frontside Bus w/built in LAN-ethernet
Asus motherboard w/support up to 3.2GB of DDR RAM
Crucial 512MB (2 -total of 1GB) DDR RAM
Lite-On DVDRW/CDRW black
Western Digital 120GB 7200RPM harddrive
SoundBlaster Live! soundcard
GeForce4 MX440 8X AGP video card
56k v.92 modem (dial up modem)
Foxcomm black supercase w/400W powersupply
SmartFan II w/coolmod (for the case)

I'm still thinking of adding another CDRW drive and another harddrive to go along with it....maybe upgrade a little more on some stuff, not really sure yet... =P

Not bad, but the video card & sound card are a bit weak.

GeForce MX series of cards have very bad performance (Ti series is better) and the SoundBlaster Live isn't that great of a card. (I went from SB Live 5.1-->Turtle Beach Santa Cruz-->Audigy 2 Platnum)

Other than that, the system looks cool :)

cool...thanks, and yes i do plan on changing the video and sound card, it also seemed a bit weak for me...i was planning on getting these

video card - BFG Technologies Asylum GeForce FX 5900 128MB DDR AGP Graphics Card

sound card - almost like yours, creative audigy 2

i'm also going to add another drive, 52X CDRW...so yeah

anybody have feedback on any of those items? thanks for everything!

Yup, the GF FX 5900 is awesome (as is a RADEON 9700 Pro, 9800 Pro, and XT)

The Audigy 2 line is by far the best sound card available ;)