hows this build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2005, 11:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86
Default hows this build

MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor

Video Card
eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

SILVERSTONE SST-ST46F ATX 460W Power Supply 115/230 V UL/ CUL, CB, TUV, Denko, Nemko, VDE

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory

Just wanted to check if this was all compatible. Also any opinions or suggestions. And don't tell me to get a dfi lanparty mobo and 7800 video card.

Computer will be used mostly for Final Fantasy XI, internet browsing, IRCing, IMing, and some light gaming. I don't really care about running Doom 3 at highest possible settings or stuff like that.

man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Everything is compatible and looks really good.

The only thing I would suggest is to get 2x512MB sticks of RAM, instead of just one stick of 1GB. This will enable you to run your RAM in dual channel mode.

It's not a big deal though, as dual channel only boosts performance slightly.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r

Corsair XMS 3200C2PT 2x512 or cosair value memory. What's your budget. IF this setup costs more than $1000, i wouldn't buy it.
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum

AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86

All of those cost less than $560 together
man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Okay you DEFIANTLY WANT 2x 512 meg of ram and not a single stick

And what do you have against a DFI lanparty, better board than the neo 4's

And personally, I would reconsider the PSU as well
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

Ok, first the DFI lan party is not for everyone. Please get that into your heads. He has not mentioned any plans for overclocking, and the MSI neo 4 is a good board. It also costs about 50 dollars less than the DFI.

Also, besides overclocking, how is the DFI better? Does it make his computer run any faster? Will it give more frames in games, or improve his internet browsing time? Will it somehow magically increase his internet connection speed by a megabit?

Btw, your missing case/power supply/cd burner/hard drive/monitor/keyboard/mouse/speakers. If you have those great!
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86

I forgot to mention I already have everything else.

But for mouse I'm getting the Logitech MX510

And the PSU is stated in the first post. Also, I don't really plan on doing any overclocking.
man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286

i would get a cheaper PSU, cheaper brand vid. card maybe refurbrished, and 512XMS ram, and get a better CPU, like at least 3200 or something
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

I just plain don't like DFI really, so i rarely reccomend them. Much rather be friends with an Abit.

Why are you telling him to only get 512mb of ram pc_kid? He wants a gig, and he should. And he should want TWO 512's, not the one gig stick .

Don't change the video card, I couldn't recomend a better choice.

That PSU only puts out 18A on the 12v rail, get a different PSU. I would say something 24A's would be sufficient, but more could never hurt of course.
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86

How about this RAM

And this PSU

man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.