How were your first experience in overclocking? just wanted to know~~ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2004, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default How were your first experience in overclocking? just wanted to know~~

My first overclocking didn't go so well. I was nervous that my comp would explode or something ..

I still don't really know how to overclock yet hehe..
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Ran great for a little while, raised my 3dMark03 score about 200 points, then the computer started freezing up frequently. Then, it started freezing up and corrupting CMOS data, requiring to clear the CMOS via the jumper every time it froze up. Because of this, i lowerd my clock speed back to stock settings for the time being.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Yea, first time i overclocked my computer it would start freezing, and I didn't like how hot the cpu was getting so i put it back down to normal.......the next time i overclocked a computer it was my old computer.......i put a 133 chip in......doubled the voltage it was suppose to take......and did a couple of other things..didn't put a heatsink or fan on it.....and let it boot windows and run.......and run...and run......and it wouldn't die!!! it didn't freeze......it ran windows and everything else i was doing perfectly.........if i get bored i'll try it again ^_^
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

i burned out a motherboard, blew a soundcard and a graphics card, the processor itself was more or less ok, apart from the fire damage...

lets just say i'm a little more cautious and i hope more knowledgable these days!!!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to dykzeulb Send a message via MSN to dykzeulb Send a message via Yahoo to dykzeulb
Default

What is overclocking plz excuse my stupidity seriously though..?
dykzeulb is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

It's when you run hardware (ex. processor) above the normal/stock speed it's meant to run at.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 09:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

It could be exciting and also both dangerous.

WIthought thorough knowledge of overclocking, i wouldn't recommend it.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

wasn't me but my cousin OCed and he fried his CPU and his Mobo!
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

i just slowly increased the settings until it wouldnt boot windows then lowered it down.

I have "crushed" 3 motherboards (got 2 back) by using a thermalright HS which mounts through the board. When screwing it in, it crushes the chips around it. I thought I had fried them, but no.
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 10:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Jarik :: Tentsu
Default

Mine went suprisingly well.

I oced from 2.6 to 2.8 without changing anything cept the bus speed. Worked excellently had it going like that for a while, then changed it to 3.0 and it's running perfectly too.

No additional coolers either ^_^
__________________

Jarik :: Tentsu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.