How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2007, 02:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

Havent got a clue where to start and what programmes to download!
Never ever oc'ed in my life!
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
Havent got a clue where to start and what programmes to download!
Never ever oc'ed in my life!
OCing with programs is really not recommended. You adjust settings in your bios to overclock.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

hmm ok i know how to go into the bios, what exactly do i do once im in there?

Hey i told you im a noob when it comes to overclocking!

Will it just say "NO" kinda thing if im asking too much of it? or will everything just go pear shaped ?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 07:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

Google = your friend

you adjust the multiplier if you can (amd's after week 39 or 339 or w/e are locked) to the highest it can go and then adjust the FSB accordingly

The clock speed will be the multiplier x front side bus

UPDATE:

decided to oc my 4200 more so my 8800 gts would be able to reach higher fps'

I got to 2662 MHZ with a 100% load on both cores at 66 C max which is decent since 73 is terminal temperature, leaving the proccesor on 24/7 will probably overheat, but I don't so thats ok. The VCORE is at 1.420

I tried going to 2706 MHZ with a 1.420 VCORE, but it gets an error in the PRIME95 torture test so I raised the VCORE to 1.450 but then I got the BSOD when it reached 30 seconds into max temperature so I backed it down a bit

I use the Scythe Ninja Plus Rev. B heatsink with the stock 120 mm fa which runs a 1200 RPM, so you can probably get a bit better then me

btw. I have the Windsor CPU
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 09:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

i was able to run my 4200 windsor rock stable at 2.75, could get it to boot at 2.9...i was just amazed that it would even lauch windows at that speed.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i was able to run my 4200 windsor rock stable at 2.75, could get it to boot at 2.9...i was just amazed that it would even lauch windows at that speed.
what settings?

what heatsink?

the reason I can't get that high is because I need to up the voltage and I can't without burning out the CPU
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

I have gotten my 3500venice to run p95 at 2.75ghz, so I am sure you could get the x2 4200 to be stable at the speed....
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 10:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

well... I got a BSOD from reaching critcal temperatures as the proccesor reached 73 C which is the terminal temperature

I'm currently running 11x multi with a 226 FSB, 1.420 VCORE
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 11:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

hmm lets see, its been awhile since i have had that cpu in my box...
well, the HTT was 250 with multi at 11.
the HT multi was at x4.
the ram was probably set to ddr2 667 in bios, maybe ddr2 533 for stability testing.
i know my vcore wasnt over 1.45, i had to run it at 1.525 to reach 2.9 though (and boot at least). you are probably right about having to up the voltage.
i have a zalman 9500.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 03:16 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock?

your temps are awefully high. When I had my 4400x2 air cooled on a Zalman CNPS9500 I was able to clock it to 2.86ghz and temps never were above 55c or so. This was on 1.5vcore if I remember correctly.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amd athlon 64 X2 4200+ overclock Norcent Overclocking and Modding 37 09-16-2007 08:58 PM
AMD loses another executive Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-06-2007 03:42 PM
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM
wanting to overclock my E6420 Snake64_009 Overclocking and Modding 12 07-16-2007 03:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.