How to Unlock AMD Phenom II X4 on ASUS M4A87TD Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2013, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Question How to Unlock AMD Phenom II X4 on ASUS M4A87TD Mobo?

Firstly: deviantART Forum: How to Unlock (NOT overclock) my AMD Phenom II X4 CPU on my ASUS M4A87TD MOBO? That thread should give you the gist of what I'm trying to do. What is unlocking? How does it differ from overclocking? Will it help games run smoother? Can you unlock and then overclock? How do I figure out my Graphics card info? Did I miss the correct board for this thread? Thanks in advance for any help, and sorry I am such a novice!

-Matt
__________________

Uikri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: How to Unlock AMD Phenom II X4 on ASUS M4A87TD Mobo?

Unlocking means you are unlocking the "locked" cores that are disabled by the factory. If you already have a Phenom X4 then the odds of being able to unlock are slimmer than none. First you will need to have a Phenom 2 X4 960t to unlock the extra 2 cores but the CPU can be real unstable if you do this and will cause a lot of crashing without a ton of extra voltage to try and stabilize it. The other CPU you can unlock is the Phenom 2 X2 555BE which will unlock to the 955 but again, same thing. It's no guaranteed thing and is really only meant for very advanced users.

Unlocking as opposed to overclocking wont really grant you extra performance. If you already have an X4 then you wont get any extra FPS and overclocking wont help that much either.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: How to Unlock AMD Phenom II X4 on ASUS M4A87TD Mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Unlocking means you are unlocking the "locked" cores that are disabled by the factory. If you already have a Phenom X4 then the odds of being able to unlock are slimmer than none. First you will need to have a Phenom 2 X4 960t to unlock the extra 2 cores but the CPU can be real unstable if you do this and will cause a lot of crashing without a ton of extra voltage to try and stabilize it. The other CPU you can unlock is the Phenom 2 X2 555BE which will unlock to the 955 but again, same thing. It's no guaranteed thing and is really only meant for very advanced users.

Unlocking as opposed to overclocking wont really grant you extra performance. If you already have an X4 then you wont get any extra FPS and overclocking wont help that much either.
I play Arma 2 alot, and its mainly a CPU game, I overclocked my AMD X4 965 to a stable 4GHZ and I only got 2 fps more in the In game benchmark, I think more than likely its this games fault why I didn't get better results seeing as its known for its un-optomization. Good thing arma 3 can run better on my rig than arma 2! (its not out yet, but they said it utilizes the gpu more, they said the 560 would be a good card for good graphics...

EDIT: I just want to add that you wont see any performance difference like PP said, also you shouldn't overclock your comp without an aftermarket cooler, especially in a pre build
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: How to Unlock AMD Phenom II X4 on ASUS M4A87TD Mobo?

Farcry 3 is the most CPU utilizing game that I've seen to date and dropping from hex to quad or 4.2 to 3.3 made no difference. Odds have it if you already have a quad overclocking or upgrading wont grant any performance and if it does you are pretty much only relieving a bottleneck on older chips. I had something better than this typed, but you can thank the revert for not saving my crap as it wouldn't submit my post.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, ati, cpu, mobo, unlock

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.