How to tell if your motherboarrd is working good and not faulty - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2005, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to Carlo Send a message via Yahoo to Carlo
Default How to tell if your motherboarrd is working good and not faulty

hey dudes im wondering if i can find any software to scan my motherboard to see if it is in good working order
__________________

Carlo is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 01:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well most likely that if you computer boots up and is stable, your mobo is fine.............
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Not necessarily, I have had motherboards that would boot up and work just fine in wondows, but they had hardware problems like a usb port not working or fan power connectors not working and things like that.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

but you dont need software to check that.........
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Does you computer turn on?

If yes... it works.
If no... it doesn't.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea, ur mobo is usualy never the problem unless it doesnt start. if it goes to windows its prolly fine.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 07:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

About the only sure fire find out whether or motherboard is 100% working is that it's the only item that you have not replaced yet.
Good Old Fashion Get Your Hands Dirty Trouble Shooting.

I normally change over the RAM, CPU, CARD and try getting the machine to boot up with the bare minium first. It's the idea of "We Changed Every Thing Else, It Has To Be The Motherboard"

Then again, I got the recourses to able to swap and change hardware at my work (Computer Store). Eg. Spare parts and a working test bed.

Because Changing a motherboard is one of those tasks I loath doing, I try checking every thing else first.


As for software for checking your motherboard, contact your motherboard's manufacturer. They MAY have some thing that you can download. Some how I dought it as the last thing the manufacturer's really needs in all there end users who thing they "know-everything-about-computers" bugging them.
Trust me, I had enough bad expereinces with end users and fault finding software just because they don't what they are doing.

About the only thing that i can think of that get remotely close to what might be after is a P.O.S.T. CARD. It's a PCI card with an Display that will test your PC for faults when booting up.
The only problem is.... the cheap ones (approx AU$500) will only tell you the obvious (eg. No Ram, No Video Card, IDE Channel Conflict etc.). These ones are a complete waste of time as your POST beeps and 5 minutes of reading the motherboard manual will tell you the same thing.
The ones that really work (eg. The ones that will tell you give you the details on what part of the motherboard is wrong) are start at about AU$2500. At that price, you can buy yourself another motherboard with a kick *** system on top of it.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

wow...... Yea i see kits that are $500-$2000 american like that, comes with all sorts of hardware that you put into the motherboard theres one kit that used a PCI slot and a available RAM slot :-\ but hell who would but that >_< $2000 american......................................
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
but hell who would but that >_< $2000 american......................................
PC Technicians that really do not have the time Fart @$$ around with chopping and changing every other part.
Eg. Network Admin from Medium to Large Companying that just got lumbered with the job of Company PC Repair Man.

PC Technicians that want 100% solid evidence that motherboard is stuffed. I know a few that need these as the double check and tripple check the motherboard before sending it back to me for RMA.

PC Technicians that require a $2000 tax write off. If I was going to get one of these, I would organise a FLEXIRENT lease on it as any bet POST cards get outdated along with the technology.

Normally your motherboard importer will have one of these cards has they would want to be 100% sure that there is some thing wrong with the motherboard before sending it back to Asia where the factory are for RMA.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.