How is this setup? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2005, 02:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

2GB is overkill....1GB is fine for games. However, you really need to get a different video card. You will not be happy with performance at all from that video card. Get at least a 6600GT at minimum. If you really want performance, go for the 6800GT.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 03:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

AMD Athlon 64...I bet you that you could get an AMD Athlon 64 2800+ for less than that AXP 3200+ and it would be faster too.

Cut the memory back to 1GB and spend more on the gfx.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 05:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

why why why why
your putting your money in the wrong places

first get a GOOD proc an amd 64 bit id say a 3200 or 3500

then a GOOD vid card get a 6600gt or 6800gt

Mobo wise get a nforce 3 ultra chipset or nforce 4 ultra

Then get 1 gig of good ram

then you can buy your expensive speakers etc


imo get good setup before you buy expensive speakers
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I think you guys covered it good enough.
Scrap the extra gig of ram.
Go with a 6600gt or 6800gt
Scrapt the sound card, most good mobos have pretty decent sound, you would't notice the difference.
I would go with a fifty dollar logitech set of speakers, that will still give you awesome sound.
Unless you plan on overclocking the ram, get some value ram to save $$
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Very well I will go to 1 GB of ram...put the rest of the money towards a good video card...I want to thank all of you for your opinions, they are greatly appreciated. If i sounded like a jerk or smart *** i appologize. btw...one of the Local computer stores told me that buying an AMD 64 processor now is like "buying a Porche only to drive it down the block" I am going to take the local tech guys advice for now...when I buy something I dont like to go low grade, i always buy "midrange or above"(hence, if I bought a AMD 64 it would be a midrange AMD 64 and not the basic model...see where I am going with this?) ,even though AMD XP is considered low grade to you guys,it is considered top of the line for budget gamers, so I will stick with the XP processor now untill either the Windows XP 64 bit edition comes out, or untill windows launches "Longhorn" by that time I will be able to afford a top of the line AMD 64 processor.
jord4952 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Default

By the way....what type of wattage do I need to run this setup well? I have a 350W in the case I bought, i was thinking maybe a 500W would do?
jord4952 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

just make sure the 500w has nice rails, more specifically the +12v rail

Try and get 18a on the +12v Rail and that'll assure you a good amount of headroom as far as power is concerned

The Ultra X-Connect 500w PSU is excellent and has really strong rails. Like 30a on the +12v

That should last you no matter how many fans, devices, what have you that you throw at it. A really strong PSU but is $100
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 07:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

really id go with amd 64 bit proc. they cheap as hell right now and imo 64>xp
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 08:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
just make sure the 500w has nice rails, more specifically the +12v rail

Try and get 18a on the +12v Rail and that'll assure you a good amount of headroom as far as power is concerned

The Ultra X-Connect 500w PSU is excellent and has really strong rails. Like 30a on the +12v

That should last you no matter how many fans, devices, what have you that you throw at it. A really strong PSU but is $100

Thanks Nubius for the advice, I'll look into it.
jord4952 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 08:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Really a 2800 Athlon and 3200XP will have around the same peformance. Hey their around the same price too.

Don't waste your money on expensive ram yet, their's better things you should pay for, like CPU
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.