how to overclock CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default how to overclock CPU

ummm

i have a P3 933Mhz.. and i want to push it up to at least 1.0 Ghz.

so i want to know how to get into the BIOS when i first start my computer..
__________________

gojonnygo5 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

oh um and the thing is like.. AWARD
__________________

gojonnygo5 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the DELETE key or F12 is generally the standard buttons for getting into the BIOS. Should say when your computer first boots up how to get into setup, but you'd have to look quick.

Theres a sticky at the top of this thread that says how to OC. I'd start there for info
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well if it is premade you cannot do it unless you are evry lucky.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

well its not premade..

but i got another problem

it is indeed the DEL key to get into the BIOS

but my keyboard is USB and i guess it doesnt turn on or something so its like i keep pushing DEL but wont do anything, and i know it doenst turn on because i tried to turn num lock and caps lock and those didnt light up
gojonnygo5 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

try other keyboard then
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 12:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah my friend with his USB keyboard had the same problem. Guess it's because USB needs drivers via windows to work or something. You're gonna need to use a regular PS/2 keyboard then
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.