How Was This Oc Done? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2006, 05:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

It said the heatsink temp was near -200, but the core was only -38. Cool video, stupid music
__________________

klein1jo is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 07:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

Quote:
it's just multiple screenshots dude. It's not like it's actually raising realtime like that.
nubius i just got an email from a guy that did that at a different date, and that is REAL TIME video. there is a piece of software that can increase your fsb through windows. That software is CPUCOOL http://www.cpufsb.de/. it only allows you to increase the fsb, so in the bios you would need a locked multiplier then in winidows you can take the fsb of the mobo up. now i tried to get this software to work but it does not seem to like my fx-55. i am not sure if it is because amd has intergrated memory controler or something like that, i am a novice at overclocking so i do not know much about it.
__________________

turboFX55 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Is that standard thermal grease he's using? -200 degrees and he's not using AS5 .. unless you need a special compound that can handle the temperature ..

Anyway, 5.255 GHz must be the Pentium 4 record, because I'm pretty sure the intel record is 7 GHz with a Celeron.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I wouldn't screw around with anything that you aren't to familiar with like that program. I'm sure Nubius is aware of those windows programs for overclocking, common what dou ya take him for...he Nubius! Oh yea and I think that he was right about the multiple screenshots. I was surprised about that standard thermal paste and how freaking much he put on!
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

in an article i read somewhere, a guy with a windows 2000 (in the year 1999) overclocked in -30*(F or C, i dont remember) and had the fastest computer in the world for 30 seconds.

lol, his computer heated up after that and he had to put it to regular again, his computer was ok after though.
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

lol.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 08:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
nubius i just got an email from a guy that did that at a different date, and that is REAL TIME video. there is a piece of software that can increase your fsb through windows. That software is CPUCOOL http://www.cpufsb.de/.
I already know there is software that can increase your FSB through windows. However, his FSB isn't climbing up radically like that as well as the voltage climbing simultaneously. The computer wouldn't even be able to stay stable if it were actually climbing that fast and tossing in the voltage like that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

Quote:
I wouldn't screw around with anything that you aren't to familiar with like that program. I'm sure Nubius is aware of those windows programs for overclocking, common what dou ya take him for...he Nubius! Oh yea and I think that he was right about the multiple screenshots. I was surprised about that standard thermal paste and how freaking much he put on!
reggie, i know that he is nubius, but as i said before in my post it was live action, i got a email from a guy that helped with that. That program that i linked is how he did it.
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'm looking at that program and it looks like clockgen.......you still gotta change it one step at a time......the thing won't just run it straight up like it shows it doing in the video, this is why I still say it's multiple screenshots especially with the voltage greying out in some parts, plus that was CPU-Z or something which I don't think will show you your speed until after you've reopened it......BUT, needless to say I haven't tried having CPU-Z open and bumping that up in windows
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 10:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It's just a lot better to use the bios.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.