how much tubing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default how much tubing

How much tubing would be a safe amount for my water loop? I might have to put my heatercore outside of my case. I won't be putting my heatercore like across the room from my computer, but likely right next to it.

Would 8 ft be a safe amount or could I escape with less?

I know it's hard to predict dependent upon the case and the setup, but what is the average amount that most people buy? I'd rather get more than less.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

you want to use as little as possible, to make a more efficient loop... more tubing = more friction... harder for the pump and low waterflow, which can mess up your temps.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

I'm not talking about how much I will use; I'm talking about how much I will buy. If I buy 8 ft but I only need 5 ft, then that is all I will use. I will save any extra should I replace the loop's tubing in the future.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I personally buy 10 feet every time, incase I make mistakes with cuts or simply need extra. You realistically only need >5 feet
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I bought 4 my first time and it wasn't enough

5 feet would have suited me for one loop.



That's about 4 feet in there...the first time around I had a longer T-line...so it's probably about 3 and a half realistically.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Man what a mess.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Haha organised chaos!

I love it.

Buy 6 feet and leave room for beginner miscuts and mistakes.
imation is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 07:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

always buy a bit extra, you will always need it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Man what a mess.....
And? Like I give a crap what it looks like...I'm not taking it to a 'prettiest case' contest....come organize it for me then if it bothers you enough to make a useless post.

It does what it's needed to do
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

In that case, 8 ft sounds like a good extra. I would go with 10 ft, but the Tygon is very expensive.

How co I connect the tubing together? Would I need one of these dealios: Adjustable Plastic Hose Clamps? If so, think they have these available at Home Depot? Perhaps one of these: http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...4+3116&pos=n06

How often do you replace the tubing (if at all)? I'll definitely be saving any extra Tygon for a future check on the loop should I have to replace any tubing.

Ya'll know I have that ridiculously huge case. So my motherboard is at the very bottom. You can imagine how far the T-line will be. The T-line will be a bit less that 2 ft alone!

Nubius got it a bit easy there, eh? Your T-line is like 6 inches from your CPU! Look what I have to deal with:


The red-line gap is 2 ft. I'll probably end up connecting the T-line through the blue lines right after it cooles the GPU, so maybe half the distance.

I've even been having trouble trying to plan it out, despite it being such a massive case. I was thinking of putting the heatercore to the left there, but that would defeat the purpose of that left 120mm fan & 80mm intakes. It would just blow air right into the heatercore when I will have 2x120mm on it anyway. I guess it wouldn't hurt. That 120mm exhaust to the right is the only one pulling air out.

Speaking of fans (sorry to drift off-topic), should I arrange my 2x120mm on the heatercore to push air ONTO it or pull air AWAY from it?

As for messes, you should see my case. And I don't even have WC yet! That's what a massive case will do to you: place the PSU as far as possible from the mobo so everything is a damn stretch.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.