*How much* Stress Testing? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 05:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
i still have the e6550.
my q6600 should be coming in today.
are you gonna sell that e6550? how much you want for it?
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 06:22 PM   #22 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
are you gonna sell that e6550? how much you want for it?
pm and let me know how much you will pay for it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 06:06 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Eh, I got back home today to work on the testing some more. I just bought the Orange Box, and I forgot to hook the power to my DVD-RW drive. So I put a 4-pin in there, and hit the power button. Everything lights up, but I got no picture. This really ticked me off. But thankfully I had all of my settings memorized, so I reset the CMOS and now I'm at 3.6 again.

Does anyone have any idea why this happened? I could understand if my system was terribly unstable, but for god's sake it went an hour and a half yesterday in stress testing no problem, before I had to turn it off and leave. Why wouldn't it be able to boot after 24 hours of sitting there??? Maybe it had something to do with me finally getting power to my DVD-RW, like it was trying to boot off of it...
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 06:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

maybe it overheated and bsod and shutoff.
I would really suggest you try stress testing a lower oc before jumping to 3.6...its just my advise.

Try like 3.2-3.4( its no harm really)
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 09:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

No no there was no BSOD. I was running prime95 yesterday @ 3.6ghz. I let it run for an hour and a half BUT I had to turn off my pc because I had to leave for the day. It was off until this afternoon, about 24 hours. I came home today to turn it on for the first time, and it didn't post. I don't understand why my system won't even post even though it ram prime 95 beautifully for quite some time yesterday.

Later on after I got it running again, I had to unplug everything today in my bedroom (including my rig) so I could completely rearrange my sloppy wiring job. Once everything became neat, I plugged back in my rig (with 3.6ghz settings keep in mind) and once again it wouldn't post! 0.o So now I reset the CMOS again and I'm back at 3.6. I'll list everything I can think of that I changed:

Vcore: 1.425v
Mem Voltage: 2.2v (running 800mhz still)
Mem timings: 5-5-5-15 (everything else auto)
FSB Voltage: +.3v
GMCH Voltage: +.3v

Do you think I'm giving too much to the fsb or GMCH? Because I honestly don't know what is "too much" but I saw another guy who used those to get his e6600 to 3.6ghz.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

well going on what someone else used for settings is dependent on their system and their system alone. Different boards have different blocks and can go higher/lower on clocks. so unless the other guy that you are referring to had the exact same setup as you, then you can't say that just because he had his settings like that, that they will work for you. Not to say that you can't use his settings as a starting point, and work your way up to 3.6, just don't blindly follow his numbers.

also take krazyq's advice, get it running 99.9% stable on a lower clock, and use that for your starting point, and increase from there as needed. By doing that you can have your stock settings which you know will work 100% of the time, then a higher setting for more intense stuff, and a suicide setting for benchies
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 01:54 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

All of this is true. My system *seems* stable (knock on wood) so far. I've shut down and restarted multiple times and it's booted just fine. That's been my only issue in the past day. I just gamed for a few hours (The orange box has me hooked), and it was rock solid there. I'll see if it boots tomorrow.

Again, the only problem I've had is my system not posting two times today. This is clearly not a blatant stability issue. But both of the times it didn't post, it was after the system was unplugged. Who knows...maybe something in my PSU or CMOS gets screwed to where it can't post if after it gets the power cut from it. It's running like a champ now.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 12:38 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Ok I'm down to 3.5ghz now and i've been running prime95 since I woke up today. I must be getting really close to the vcore sweetspot because I only lowered the fsb by 11 and it runs 1.425 with no problems.

Here's one more question: what the heck is wrong with my RAM? I see all kinds of people's sigs on here with ddr2 800 that run at 967mhz or whatever. I can't get my RAM anything higher than what it's rated for. The lowest it will go is 800mhz @ 3.6ghz and the next lowest is 1000mhz. I've juiced it to 2.4v and it still won't post at 1000mhz. When it's all set and done, I'll just be happy at 3.6 cpu and 800 ram. Just XMS2 suck that bad for OCing?
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 06:12 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

RalliArt, How much hours of stress testing are you doing? for your CPU and memory? Are you only using Prime?
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 04:16 AM   #30 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Wait. in your BIOS does it show the ddr2 ram speed or the ddr speed. Go into CPU-Z and look at the ram speed under the memory tab. What does it give you.

if your ram is at ddr2 800mhz, and you go from 2.4 to 3.6ghz your ram is linked to your FSB so it will be running a lot faster. You will have to take the timings into the equation too. Dowload memtest and use that to make sure you don't get any RAM errors.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stress Test PC - Need Free Utility (DOS Based) callmewilson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-18-2007 12:54 AM
Any stress testing program other than Prime95? Griffster Overclocking and Modding 4 12-15-2007 07:11 PM
OCing running and stress testing E6230@2.450GHz raiders_best Overclocking and Modding 20 05-22-2007 12:04 AM
looking a complete stress test for p3 based pc's -RockMan- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-28-2007 11:37 PM
Microsoft starts testing Office 2008 for Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-25-2007 01:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.