*How much* Stress Testing? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 12:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalliArt882 View Post
SOB...One of my threads caught an an error last night two hours after I started it. I then upped the voltage again this morning at 8am, started again, when back to sleep. It caught an error just one hour into it. Is it just coicidence that even though I'm upping voltages a little bit, it sometimes can't last as long under stress? Or should I disregard this because my vcore is still considerably low?

note: Although my stupid "dominator" ram is dominating at a low 800mhz still, I did tighten the timings from 5-5-5-15 to 4-4-4-12 recently. Can this increase the likelihood of failing stress tests? But heck, its certified to run 4-4-4-12 at 800 out of the box, surely this isn't an issue...
when i wnated to oc from 3.3 to 3.43(my max) i had to looses timings to 5 5 5 15.
try that and see what happens.
and what do you have your voltage at right now?make sure it doesnt go too high.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

My voltage is 1.4v. I'll leave it there while it's low and loosen my RAM timings again. My temps look great atm. Gotta love the Tuniq. Because even as I increase my vcore, I now can't go 15min without getting errors.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

try the looseing and then post back .
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 01:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Ok I loosened the timings while remaining at 1.4vcore and I couldn't last one minute. So now I'm at 1.425 and I'm hoping that I've hit a sweet spot. It's been going for half an hour now. Unfortunatly, I'm going to have to leave within an hour and won't be back until tomorrow. But if it can last another hour, I'll know I've made some good progress.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 01:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalliArt882 View Post
Ok I loosened the timings while remaining at 1.4vcore and I couldn't last one minute. So now I'm at 1.425 and I'm hoping that I've hit a sweet spot. It's been going for half an hour now. Unfortunatly, I'm going to have to leave within an hour and won't be back until tomorrow. But if it can last another hour, I'll know I've made some good progress.
welll my cpu cant get past 3.43, so dont exepct yours to work.

If it doesnt, i would try lowering your clocks try 3.4 first and see if that passes, then go up little my little.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

I have the e6600 as well, and while I am only running at 3000 mhz right now, it kept failing. So, I upped my ram from 800 to 900 at 5-5-5-15 ( I loosened them up when I first started to OC) and I passed my tests just fine. I did that because I read somewhere that ram could be a bottleneck, is this true? Try upping your ram speeds, they should be just fine, and try to test that. And I really hope you can get yours up to these high speeds because I want to get mine up this high :-D
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

ram plays a big part in oc.
But he doesnt have bad ram, so it should be ok.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Sometimes stuff just goes **** up. I think Ste was talking about his e6600 trouble. He was rock stable at 3.4, then about a month into it he couldn't even keep it at 3.2 no matter what the voltage.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Well, I went an hour and a half stress testing with 0 problems. As I stated before, I had to interrupt it because I'm at my dad's now for the next day or two. My Ram just won't boot at 1000mhz. It's the next lowest option besides 800. I'm still running 5-5-5-15, and I'm putting 2.2v through it, up from the 1.8v default. The max that the Dominator series can handle under warranty is 2.4, so I'll try that and see if it will boot after I'm sure that my cpu is stable.

Krazyq, I'm pretty sure I can get my C2D to 3.6ghz. It's probably harder to get a q6600 to 3.6 than a e6600. I'm sure my issue is just the vcore possibly being not quite high enough, although it did run at 1.425 for 1.5 hours, and I'm hoping it will run for eight. I read up on other people with e6600s, and some of them have to put 1.45-1.55v through theirs, so I've got some headroom.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalliArt882 View Post

Krazyq, I'm pretty sure I can get my C2D to 3.6ghz. It's probably harder to get a q6600 to 3.6 than a e6600. I'm sure my issue is just the vcore possibly being not quite high enough, although it did run at 1.425 for 1.5 hours, and I'm hoping it will run for eight. I read up on other people with e6600s, and some of them have to put 1.45-1.55v through theirs, so I've got some headroom.
i still have the e6550.
my q6600 should be coming in today.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stress Test PC - Need Free Utility (DOS Based) callmewilson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-18-2007 12:54 AM
Any stress testing program other than Prime95? Griffster Overclocking and Modding 4 12-15-2007 07:11 PM
OCing running and stress testing E6230@2.450GHz raiders_best Overclocking and Modding 20 05-22-2007 12:04 AM
looking a complete stress test for p3 based pc's -RockMan- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-28-2007 11:37 PM
Microsoft starts testing Office 2008 for Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-25-2007 01:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.