*How much* Stress Testing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2007, 01:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default *How much* Stress Testing?

High, I just rebuilt my rig inside my CM Stacker 830 SE with all Apevia 120mms and it runs really cool now . At 1.300v and at 333x9, it idles at 30C. I stressed it in Prime 95 for 15 minutes and got 7 tests done with no errors and no warnings, with both cores at 42C. I'm ready to OC further I believe. But just how much stress testing do I have to do to see if it's stable or not? I'd certainly hate to stress test for eight hours straight just to see if I'm stable after I OC'd marginally more. So how much is enough?

I've got one more question? This is just a confirmation, but is the default memory voltage for my DS3-965p 1.8v? I think I saw it somewhere, but I forgot where. I'm just making sure because in the BIOS, it doesn't show me what my memory voltage actually is. All it gives are options to raise it, like "+.1v", "+.2v" ect. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

15 mins is nothing...
you wanna stress test for about 8-12 hours...if no erros and the temps arent exceding 65-70, then your good.

im not sure about your ram though.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 01:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Ok so I guess I'll work my way up to the speed I want, then do a big 12 hour stress test. Thanks.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

you have an e6600. Then just use the general clock ceiling of others as your basis. Run the test for 30 minutes. You don't have to go 8 hours after every increase of 5-10mhz. I say set it to 3.2ghz run the test for a half hour and if it passes go up farther. Then test it for another half hour.

After it fails the 30 minute tests start raising the voltage. Once you think you have maxed out then start the 8 hour tests to achieve your 24/7 clock speed.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 03:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
you have an e6600. Then just use the general clock ceiling of others as your basis. Run the test for 30 minutes. You don't have to go 8 hours after every increase of 5-10mhz. I say set it to 3.2ghz run the test for a half hour and if it passes go up farther. Then test it for another half hour.

After it fails the 30 minute tests start raising the voltage. Once you think you have maxed out then start the 8 hour tests to achieve your 24/7 clock speed.
you could do that too.
i usually increse by 15-20 increm..
but id say test for an 1hr...30mins seems too short.
But its up to him, and yes after you want to stick with your speen an 8hr test is good.

Although, ive gone upto 12 hours then while gaming for a while i had a bsod...not sure why.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 04:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Everyone does it a little different. I just stuff mine to it's limits and then raise the voltage till it is stable.. A lot more careless compared to some. But it works for me.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Ok, I was running this for an hour and a half with no issues (I'm at 3.6ghz which is what i wanted) and I wanted to pause it so I could check a few things. On my toolbar, I can right click the Prime95 icon and it will let me click "Continue". But it won't continue! Why is this? I thought I could just pause it and let it keep testing when I was ready. any comments on this? Or does it not matter where it is on the stress test (i could just start over and not be concerned about how far i got after 1.5 hours)
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

when you stress test, you cant pause.
you gotta play it non stop untill your done testing.
just run the stress test before you sleep, so you wont have to be waiting for anything..
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

Ok I'll run it all night. During the time i watched it for an hour and a half, my cores only topped at 52C anyway.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: *How much* Stress Testing?

SOB...One of my threads caught an an error last night two hours after I started it. I then upped the voltage again this morning at 8am, started again, when back to sleep. It caught an error just one hour into it. Is it just coicidence that even though I'm upping voltages a little bit, it sometimes can't last as long under stress? Or should I disregard this because my vcore is still considerably low?

note: Although my stupid "dominator" ram is dominating at a low 800mhz still, I did tighten the timings from 5-5-5-15 to 4-4-4-12 recently. Can this increase the likelihood of failing stress tests? But heck, its certified to run 4-4-4-12 at 800 out of the box, surely this isn't an issue...
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stress Test PC - Need Free Utility (DOS Based) callmewilson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-18-2007 12:54 AM
Any stress testing program other than Prime95? Griffster Overclocking and Modding 4 12-15-2007 07:11 PM
OCing running and stress testing E6230@2.450GHz raiders_best Overclocking and Modding 20 05-22-2007 12:04 AM
looking a complete stress test for p3 based pc's -RockMan- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-28-2007 11:37 PM
Microsoft starts testing Office 2008 for Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-25-2007 01:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.