How much overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default How much overclock?

Hi.
I just got my rig yesterday and today i overclocked it to 3.9ghz and graphic adapter to 580 /1150
my temps are in lower 40s i just dont know how much should i overclock it. I havnt got any watercooling its just two 80mm case fans and thats all.
What do u ppl say? Is this a good overclocking or is it normal?
__________________

__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

0.9Ghz OC? only 40C?

thats good on air cooling.

i dont OC, but keep going untill it become unstable, and then drop back a bit.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

i'm impressed, Intels usually run at 70, even if you don't overclock... what core is your CPU?
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to mak01
Default

I'd say 40C is good for something that isn't overclocked. I don't know why you would need to OC any further, but you probably could.
__________________
How much time do we have?

Mobo: Abit AV8
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Video: Leadtek GeForce 6600GT | AGP 8x
RAM: 512MB PC2100 | Single Channel | Plan on upgrading ASAP
Audio: On-board 6 Channel Audio | Yamaha RX-395 Receiver and Athena AS-B1.2 Bookshelf Speakers
HDD: 80GB(74 formatted) 7200RPM
Disc Drives: 16x DVD Drive
2.4x DVD+/-RW / 12x CD-RW Drive
OS: MS Windows XP Pro

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/bigmak.png
mak01 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

.9Ghz is plenty, if you want to OC more, just watch the temps, make sure it stays below about 75C, and then just keep it going. I find it amazing you can overclock by 900mhz and still have it at 40c
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

its probally a northwood. there temperatures arnt nearly as bad as the prescotts
__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

I m kind of noob. I did this overclocking with asus AI Booster and its pretty easy to do. Right now i just got the message when i restarted that overclocking failed so i just turned it down to 3.7ghz but temps r still amazing.
I scored 9116 in 3dmark 03 with plain system and after overclocking i got to 9970 and i havnt really dragged my vid card to its limits but it still good . Isnt it?
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

My 3dmark 03 scores at 539/1096 were 9026. Your good. Cpu stock.

Edit: Just retested and got 9133.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 01:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

are you getting 40c load or idle temp? my cpu is oced about 700mhz, and i'm getting 40c idle and 55c load temps
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 07:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

its load temp and the strange thing is that the load doesnt make much differnce .Its idle at 39 and then load at 43c
__________________

__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.