How much more overclock with water rig? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default How much more overclock with water rig?

How much more overclock can you get on your GPU when you water cool it?

I currently have an eVGA 6800 GT and can only get about 420/1120. It's actually a noticeable in-game difference, even though that overclock is on a very inefficient air cooling. The wind tunnel hasn't really done much of anything.

I have heard of water coolers hitting clocks of up to 500 on the core and 1500 on the memory. Will this be possible when I water cool my system later on this month?

Where can I get benchmarks on a water cooled system vs an air cooled system?
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Go to www.xtremesystems.org, find anything there. Water cooling is all based on the parts you have and how well you set it up. The size of the radiator, fans on it, there are alot of variables. Because someone gets 600 on their GPU with water cooling dosent mean you will.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

It will take more than water cooling to get 500/1500...

I have actually never even seen memory that high. The highest I have seen was a bit under 1400. There could be higher out there though.

Any ways, to get that kind of OC you will be looking at some sort of chilled cooling system and voltage mods. No way you will get anything close to that on stock voltages.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
It will take more than water cooling to get 500/1500...

I have actually never even seen memory that high. The highest I have seen was a bit under 1400. There could be higher out there though.

Any ways, to get that kind of OC you will be looking at some sort of chilled cooling system and voltage mods. No way you will get anything close to that on stock voltages.
Nah, my buddy did his 6600GT up at 450, and that is on STOCK eVGA cooling! I always advise him to take down that OC, but he dosent lsiten. He will fry it, and I will slap him with a nice big I-told-ya-so.

Anyway, you wouldnt need chilled water to get those speeds. You would just need to have a nice water cooling system and really know what you are doing. Water cooling is under rated, as you can hit some pretty high speeds with it if it is set up right.
Him is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

my 6600gt stock is 500/1000. Are you overclocking the card in 3d mode?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Nah, my buddy did his 6600GT up at 450, and that is on STOCK eVGA cooling! I always advise him to take down that OC, but he dosent lsiten. He will fry it, and I will slap him with a nice big I-told-ya-so.

Anyway, you wouldnt need chilled water to get those speeds. You would just need to have a nice water cooling system and really know what you are doing. Water cooling is under rated, as you can hit some pretty high speeds with it if it is set up right.
huh? A 6600GT has a stock core of 500, so 450 would be an underclock.

Anyways, hes talking about a 6800GT, which has a stock core of 350. 450 I would guess would be MAX for a 6800GT on stock voltage, and most likely even that is a very rare occurance.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

?? I'm all confused, and damn tired. Why the hell is the 6600GT core clock higher than the 6800GT? He was lying to me than, I'll slap him.
Him is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

With good water..covering ram as well except 450/1280 or so..

The 6800's do more work per Mhz..have higher buses..better architecture etc..so..yea thats why even though a 6600gt is higher clocked it doesnt preform nearly as well (basically like amd and intel p4)
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 05:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol Him you need to make sure you got your clock facts straight per card.....I've seen people make that mistake all the time, but you did label yourself as the "Wisdom giver" here in this section so you should know what you're talking about in those instances right?

Quote:
With good water..covering ram as well except 450/1280 or so..
I'd say it'd have to be really good water cooling.....I know a lot of people seem to be maxing out around 430's, 440's for the core and anywhere from 1200-1300 for the memory.

I know mine with a maze4 and ramsinks was maxing out at 435/1185 and it of course never got above 52C load....I think if you wanted to go beyond that you'd need to use something like nibitor and change your voltage through the bios up .1 or flash to an Ultra BIOS then you could go higher.....I always afraid to do that personally...heard of a lot of peoples GT's dying after a couple months of use like that regardless of core temps.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 05:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

In a couple of months a GT wotn be worth much so meh about frying one
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.