how much does it matter... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2007, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default how much does it matter...

hey all.
what is the actual impact of psu on overclocking?
i have a coolmax 500W and i haven't had any problems with it.
the voltage does fluctuate in cpuz, but i have not tested it with a meter.
it seems i hit a (solid) wall at about 2.9 with my overclock.
now, i don't know if it is my mobo or my cpu...but i haven't seen to many 4200's farther than 2.8 or so. i am inclined to think that my mobo does not like high ext. cpu clock...could be like the 680i boards, and i would have better results with a x13 multiplier (mine is x11), or the unlocked fx (lol, cha ching yah right).
so, i am wondering...does my psu play a large part in my overclock?
i know it is important in the big scheme of things...
does anyone have a 4200 that can clock over the 2.8-9 point?
if so, please list your specs and settings...and what psu you have.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default

I have a X2 4200 well I haven't really tried to oc it because I just finished building it and haven't yet got the need to oc but I have used the overclocking tool that came with my mobo from windows but I only got to about 2.5-2.55 then it freezed I think this can be due to my psu because its only a cheap 350W and maybe my RAM its ddr2 667 and also a cheap brand
and what do you think of my temps the cpu is 36C and ambient temp is 32C that is with a stock cooler
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

I doubt your PSU plays much of a factor in your OC. As long as everyone has ample power then it's up to the part itself to do it's job. A crappy one most certainly could hold you back though if it's not giving parts the power they need to run at higher speed.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Aslong as you have a good and solid PSU, you're golden.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

AMD's SOI usually hits the wall at a specific speed - perfectly normal.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Camshaft
I have a X2 4200 well I haven't really tried to oc it because I just finished building it and haven't yet got the need to oc but I have used the overclocking tool that came with my mobo from windows but I only got to about 2.5-2.55 then it freezed I think this can be due to my psu because its only a cheap 350W and maybe my RAM its ddr2 667 and also a cheap brand
and what do you think of my temps the cpu is 36C and ambient temp is 32C that is with a stock cooler
yeah your ram is proly holding you back from going higher. you may try seting it to 533mhz.
those temps are fine.
with as5 and a zalman my cpu idles around 28-30ish.
more important are the load temps, but with idle temps like yours you should be okay.
windows overclocking utilities are notoriously no bueno.
do it through the bios...it works better, it's safer, and i can help you figure out what to set everything to.

Quote:
AMD's SOI usually hits the wall at a specific speed - perfectly normal.
yeah, thats what i figured. i mean, the world record x2 4200 is only like 3.5 or something and we are talking major mods to reach that high.

thanks guys. i think i'll stick with my coolmax psu.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.