How much can i overclock an AMD 2400+ Thoroughbred - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2004, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default How much can i overclock an AMD 2400+ Thoroughbred

hey guys i was wondering whats is the highest speed on an Athlon xp 2400+ thoroughbred?
__________________

__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

First off, there is a lot to know about overclocking...

Make sure that you know what your getting into. Doing something slightly wrong when you attempt to overclock can lead to destroying your processor and motherboard. Also, if you are going to be overclocking know that if you mess up anything your manufacture is going to help because you'll be voiding all warranties and stuff. Next, make sure that you have a good, no wait, great cooling system installed in your case because when you overclock you are going to be going at some serious temperatures. Since your computer is probably already running at 100 + temperatures at normal speeds, if you overclock its going to be getting past 150. If you don't want to fry your processor I would recommend buying a great cooling system. If you don't want to spend money or you don't have any you can just take the side of the case right off and use a floor fan. If you know you want to overclock please note that you are going to be tinkering with the BIOS and that is potentially dangerous as well. What you have to do is set the front bus speed and multiplier higher inside your BIOS. The front bus speed is what your computer runs at and then multiplier is what makes it run faster. So like for instance if you have a 100mhz fbs and a multiplier of 12x then its going to be a 1200mhz computer. For overclocking what you have to do is set these two higher so that the speed runs faster than normal. You may not be able to overclock because some of the newer companies are making it so you can't access and change the multiplier (This is why I can't overclock).

If all goes well I would expect that you could get up to 3ghz or possibly less. I don't want to sound mean or anything when I mention all these warnings but unless you really need the speed, I wouldn't overclock.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

i have a ultra (brandname) heatsink and it cools up to AMD Athlon 3000+, Do u think i will be able to overclock my cpu but would the temperature on the cpu stay cool enough to run?
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

It all depends on what your core temperature is at right now.
__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

My core temperature right now is around 30 to 40 degress celcius
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.