How Many Hardrives. . . . - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 04:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default How Many Hardrives. . . .

I was just wondering the maximum amount of hardrives you can have on one computer at a time. I already have two on my comp but I was hoping I could add another for more space .

Thanks alot : Kacey
__________________

kbobtheturkey is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 06:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

umm, I guess it depends on the size of the case?

Sure you can get 2 more, i guess with small midi towers possibly 4?
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 06:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

depends. In your average computer you can accomodate 4 ide devices. Usually 1 or 2 Optical Drives, and 1 or 2 hard drives. If you put a Hard drive on the same channel as a optical drive it runs really slow. Some motherboards support up to 4-6 Sata drives so you may be able to add 4-6 drives that way. Also you could get a PCi card that gives you extra capabilites. Tell your system specs.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 06:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I apologize for not knowing what a system spec. is. Could you please explain?
kbobtheturkey is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 06:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

He means, what hardware do you have. Hardware being graphics card, hard drive ect.

As in,

Intel pentium 4
Nvidia 6800GT

..
...
...
ect
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 07:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I'm sorry and thank you. Give me just a few moments perhaps and I'm sure I could get such information for whomever wanted it.
kbobtheturkey is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

It all depends upon your motherboard. You could have as many slots as you want on your case, but what's the point if you have nowhere to plug it on your motherboard?

My full-size tower has six hard drive racks while my motherboard also has six SATA connectors. I only have two ports for IDE, one which is currently connected to my optical drive.

If you are to get another hardrive, it may be wise to get SATA since most motherboards have plenty more SATA connectors (given their small size). Make sure your motherboard is SATA compliant, which it should be.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Are Ultra ATA drive supposed to be compatible in RAID 0?? sry I have no idea about Hard drives
Wuuzy is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 11:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

You could have them hanging out of your case. The DFI UTNF4 has 8 SATA ports, correct? and you have your 4 IDE channels. Then you can connect up to 127 USB external hard drives, and You can fill up the rest of your PCI slots with SATA or IDE cards at say 4 a piece, and an average of 4 PCI slots, thats.... lets see, 155 devices.
Yea, thats a bit much.... ok im done.
-Joe
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 12:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You can have 4 in your standard IDE PC. And add an extra for every SATA controller.


And than you can get add on cards for IDE and SATA.

Than their is SCSI card's, you can daisy chain a whole bunch of SCSI drives together, forget the exact number.

And then their's your included USB, up to 127 devices per host / contoller I believe.

And than you can use your firewire port as well.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.