How long to wait before... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default How long to wait before...

overclocking. I just built a new pc(not in sig yet) and was wondering if I can overclock right away or should I give it a couple of weeks, to let it burn in?

Just in case someone was wondering:

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939

AMD athlon 64 3200+ Venice core

2xwestern digital 36g HD

OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel

eVGA 256-P2-N376-AX Geforce 6800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

KINGWIN KT-424-BK-WM Black Aluminum ATX

ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W Power Supply

ZALMAN CNPS7000B-ALCU 92mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan(for cpu)

DVD drive

Samsung 930B flat panel monitor(19")

Let me know what you all think
Dave
__________________

Dav536 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

you should wait about a week before overclocking ur new pc to break in the cpu.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Without liquid cooling you arent going to go extremley far, but like was mentioned above, give it about a week or two for all of the components to settle in and you to get a feel for the computer.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default

Thanks, not my first build but was just making sure. Yeah I know wont get to far with a fan, but I will be ordering my water cooling solution in a few weeks from danger den.

Thanks again,
Dave
Dav536 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

AMD isnt the easiest to OC, do you know what you are doing on that front? Seems that you may be apt to burning a peice.
Him is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 06:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

AMD is very easy to OC, you just have to make sure you arent doing anything wrong.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Not with all the memory timings you have to mess with. Intel is regarded as the "begginers OC" chip, since all you really have to do is up the FSB. Dosent really work that way on an AMD.
Him is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default

I did not have a hard time last time doing it on my old machine, but this is a different pc so time will tell. I might just wait til I get the water cooling setup. I was just wondering because it was well over 5mo before I tried last time and just did not want to burn up my cpu.

Thanks again,
Dave
__________________

Dav536 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.