How long must I wait until CMOS clears? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2007, 01:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

Frustrating:

Trying to clear CMOS by removing the battery requires I wait 2-4 hours before it will clear. Yes I remembered to unplug the psu.

I tried changing the jumpers but it still took 15 minutes.

Does it always take this long?
__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

When I cleared my CMOS, it took about a few minutes. Took out battery and changed the jumpers. Turned my computer back on and everything was cleared.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

moving my jumers resets bios instantly so does removing the battery,
Nick is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

What?!....It only should take less than 30 seconds. You take out the battery, then move the jumpers to the clear position, and leave it there for 5-10 seconds. Then you put the jumper back to normal position, and put the battery back, and you're done. Put the side panel on, plug it in, and you're CMOS is cleared.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
What?!....It only should take less than 30 seconds. You take out the battery, then move the jumpers to the clear position, and leave it there for 5-10 seconds. Then you put the jumper back to normal position, and put the battery back, and you're done. Put the side panel on, plug it in, and you're CMOS is cleared.
for me its remove the front of the case, slide of the side panel reach in for the jumpers, switch the jumpers, slide the side panel back on, clip the front of the case on and away we go
Nick is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

yeah i dont have to remove the battery, just switch the jumpers...5 seconds, then switch the jumpers back. done.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

I remove the battery and wait like 30 minutes, replace, power up and nothing. I removed the battery and switched the jumpers, waited 5 min, switched back, and nothing. Switched jumpers, waited 10 min, nothing. Tried again, but waited 15 min and finally it was reset.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

oh yeah i forgot i have to unplug the power before switching the jumper.
by the way, whoever decided the place for the jumper on the evga 590sli should be taken outside and BEATEN. relentlessly.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
oh yeah i forgot i have to unplug the power before switching the jumper.
by the way, whoever decided the place for the jumper on the evga 590sli should be taken outside and BEATEN. relentlessly.
Why so? I'm confused about that, lol.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How long must I wait until CMOS clears?

its at the bottom of the mobo, in a hard place to get to. like, if you have sli'd graphics, like me(or probably even if you didn't)...you have to get a pair of needlenose pliers after it.
i complained to evga about it. lol, i was like, "WTF?? you guys couldn't put it in the middle like SOMEWHERE I COULD ACTUALLY GET TO?!? without a trained monkey or a gremlin or double-jointed wrists, that is!"
tech support at evga...ahhh...those guys LOVE me. really. i think they record my calls so that when i show up with an AK-47 they will have evidence in my trial. lol just kiddin. i love my mobo, but evga needs to oust the noob retards and get some real tech support folks. you know...like...how is it that i know more about your product than YOU? inexcusable, you no rebate givin bastiches. lol.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need a a GOOD LONG lasting mouse!! Fayt19 New Systems | Building and Buying 34 07-02-2007 10:32 PM
How long will TF be a mess? idiotec Off Topic Discussion 13 04-03-2007 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.