How high OC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default How high OC?

How high could i overclock the rig in my sig assuming i have stock cooling and this would be my first time. Don't worry i will get some help before i even try it, i just want a rough estimate.
__________________

__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) don't try overclocking with a 20pin PSU
2.) once you get your 420W TT, you'll be a little more safer
3.) value ram can't OC for crap, except 210Mhz or so (200 is stock, so around 2000 to 2100mhz)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Overclock in increments, watch your temps.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 05:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

emealdice you spoke my speech!

Anyway, just a tip to remind you, watch your speed! No seriously...

For example ive overclocked my pentium 2.8ghz processor as far as it goes before dying. ITs currently at 2.6ghz. And before you start, that is a full 200mhz below what its default speed should be. Why? Cheap manufacturing in taiwan or whatever i suppose.
Moral of the story: Isnt one, just thoguht id tell ya.
dakta is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 05:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dakta
For example ive overclocked my pentium 2.8ghz processor as far as it goes before dying. ITs currently at 2.6ghz. And before you start, that is a full 200mhz below what its default speed should be. Why? Cheap manufacturing in taiwan or whatever i suppose.
I just think you never had it set right to begin with,Why would it be lower with you even OC'ing it
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ur cpu should reach around 2.6 2.7gig. BUT ur ram simply wont go anywhere near that so if u want to chip to run that fast ul have to put it in a ratio. i think itll be 166 u should select. but as diable sed ur value ram wont pass 210mhz plus with only havin a 20pin psu ur gonna be unstable when trying to reach that speed if i were u i would keep the ratio at 1:1 and get to about 2.1gig and not go any further as u become unstable very quickly.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 07:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
1.) don't try overclocking with a 20pin PSU
2.) once you get your 420W TT, you'll be a little more safer
3.) value ram can't OC for crap, except 210Mhz or so (200 is stock, so around 2000 to 2100mhz)
why is that? i'm OCed, still trying to make it stable but i have a 24 pin mopo powered by a 20 pin PSU and no has yet told me that that was an issue...
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 10:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your video card is also less demanding

Wait for your 24 pin PSU (thermaltake's coem with a nifty adapter) and OC than, watch your temps and stability
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Check out my specs... I overclocked my 3000+ to 2.3 GHz and I am fine. I could go higher if I experimented for a while (I used to have it at 2.6 GHz) but really there is no reason for me too. I mean, I get everything I need out of this rig right now, but I think you can get AT LEAST over 2.3 GHz (with value RAM).
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 02:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

whats the porb with ocing with a 20 pin psu??? i get 2.6 easy with mine and and i have value ram and a cheap psu. 2.3ghz i can get 1:1 and thats with tightened timings. look BE CARFUL when u oc but don't get too freaked out. just make sure u know your oc is stable witha 24 hour run of prime before leaving it there. also make sure u know how to wipe your bios i have had to do that soooo many times
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.