How high does the cpu multiplier on a dfi lanparty go? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 05:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default How high does the cpu multiplier on a dfi lanparty go?

I bought a Asus A8N-E motherboard because I heard that it was as good as a dfi but I found that the multiplier only goes to 9x. I need a higher multiplier since my ram can't handle a fsb over 220 and my amd64 3000 is only hitting 45c. So does a dfi go higher because if it does I regret my decision.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you can't change the multiplier upwards, its locked at 9X. its not because of the motherboard its the cpu. no offence but if you didn't know that already you may have to do some more research before you continue overclocking.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

No offense taken. I actually thought that might be the case but I wrote my thread when I was half asleep so I most of forgot to say "or do they all".
This is my first amd64 OC but I've read probably 10 guides by now when I was figuring out which mobo to get. Oddly enough I do not recall ever seeing that you can't go pass 9x. Is the 9x on the 3000 and not the 3200? Because the guide on this forum they show a 3200 with a multiplier of 10x.
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

thats correct. the 3000+ is locked at 9x and the 3200+ at 10x. well good to know you have an idea of what you are doing . i only said what i said because i was concerned you might be clueless if you didn't know about the locked multiplier. oh well any more questions and you can post back here or PM me
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

best AMD overclock guide. if you havent seen it....
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20823
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The DFI is better for overclocking. There are more and better options in the bios.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

No fear, you can still use the CPU:RAM dividers to OC further, since for AMD at least, what really matters for the memory and processor is the raw CPU clock (higher the better), and the RAM timings. The actual bandwith of the memory really isn't as significant as those two things, and should be sacrificed to obtain those two things.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

FXs come with their mutipliers unlocked though...right?
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 01:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
No fear, you can still use the CPU:RAM dividers to OC further, since for AMD at least, what really matters for the memory and processor is the raw CPU clock (higher the better), and the RAM timings. The actual bandwith of the memory really isn't as significant as those two things, and should be sacrificed to obtain those two things.
Yeah that has helped a lot. At first I thought I didn't have cpu:ram divider but then I figured out that they just express it as ram speed and not a % or ratio

So far guys I got it running completly stable at a 5/4 or 4/5 (not sure how you express it.) cpu:ram ratio. fsb is set to 260 and ram comes out to 216.45. So my cpu is clocked at 2.35ghz right now at 48c under load
I can't run anything over 220 on the ram, not even 220.5. So I was thinking I would lower the ratio again and bump the fsb a bit and then I could maybe run tighting timings on the ram since it will be running slower than stock. and hopefully hit 2.5ghz. I'm thinking I might make it since my temps are the same at 2.1 and 2.35 with the vcore set to auto and running about 1.5.
Does anybody have suggestions on vcore and what I should set it to for 2.35ghz? Or any other suggestions?
And does anyone know the stock fan speed max? Its running around 4250 now, and about 3600 before I OC'd.



Quote:
FXs come with their mutipliers unlocked though...right?
Last time I checked they did.
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
FXs come with their mutipliers unlocked though...right?
Yep
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.