How good is this case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2005, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default How good is this case?

This is my first build and i was needing to know if this case is good or not. I will be gaming quite a bit but not with the newest games (doom 3 and HL2 are too expensive).

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...195-009&depa=0
__________________

tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

the quality of a case is generally match with the near amountof its price. an antec case stands up better quality at 100 bucks to the cheaper case around 50 bucks. you get what you pay for. its an okay case i wouldnt reccomend it for a high end machine.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Doom3 and HL2 are too expensive? lol

The power supply may not be able to handle things, do some google research. A half decent 450 watt costs more than that case and power supply combined usually.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

so do you guys have any other suggestions, like maybe another case and where i could find one. My budget for my case is kinda low...nothing over 100
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

and will the proposed PSU be a ble to support AMD 64 3400 processor, 1 gig RAM, Albatron "K8Ultra-V Pro" VIA K8T800 mobo, GeForce 6600GT Video Card, etc?
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Cooler Master Centurion 5 Blue/Black Mid-Tower Case with 350W Power Supply
http://tinyurl.com/69qec

RAIDMAX Black Aluminum Gaming Case with 420W Power Supply
http://tinyurl.com/4a4vz

COOLER MASTER Cavalier 3 Silver/Blue ATX Mid-Tower Case With 350W Power Supply
http://tinyurl.com/6vg6l

MGE Viper Black/Red ATX Mid Tower With 500W PSU & Blue UV Acylic Window
http://tinyurl.com/6t3vu

LOGISYS Blue/Silver DRACULA CASE SPECIAL LIMITED EDITION w/ 480W PSU
http://tinyurl.com/5wxwu

Any of these cases should fit the bill...and your budget. Sine I do not know your tastes, I could only guess.

It sounds like your biggest concerns should be power supply and ventilation. These cases should cover both, but an extra fan or two wouldn't hurt anything.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

so will a 350 watt PSU be able to power my propsed system with no trouble?
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Depends on the PSU.

A piece of junk PSU will just cause you headache and heartache. If you buy a case with a power supply from a cheapo company, you might as well go ahead and buy a PSU. A cheap PSU can let you down, and can fry your components as well.

350W should handle your needs, unless you really slam it with major components (multiple opticle drives, multiple hard drives, mega case lighting, dozen fans).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.