How does the Via chipset compare to the Nforce? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default How does the Via chipset compare to the Nforce?

Just wondering how these two compare in performance and quality
__________________

stevedub is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Sorry dude, no idea. nubius will be on later probably and he will probably know. hes much smarter than me
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

They go hand in hand with Nforce being everyone's favourites right now
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I do know that people with VIA chipsets seem to have more trouble with ATI video cards than Nvidia.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

The reason I ask is I was looking at this abit AX8 board vs. the DFI lan party, the abit board is about 30$ cheaper, but it has the via chipset, instead of the nforce ultra.
stevedub is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 05:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

judging by what ive heard go with the dfi. although abit is great
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

If your a OC/gamer, and are pretty technicial. Get a DFI mobo. DFI are better at OC then Abit. I have the Abit AV8 3RD EYE. With Abits special Guru OC Utility. Its nothing great at all. Abit does OC their own way. This mobo is good for OC newbies.

The bad thing about these Abit Guru mobo's built for OC. Is that its pretty much made for OC through windows. This can invite windows corrution, and just harsh OC failures... Witch i have experienced them more then i can count.

I have a VIA chipset, havent had any problems with my XT.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Abit makes good stable boards that can overclock as well as DFI, they just don't have as many options or configurations that can be changed so it's a bit tricky and takes a lot of trial and error.

Via generally isn't as good as the nForce chipsets for both overclocking and features, however Via is coming up with a few interesting innovations. I'm quite certain that have an upcoming chipset that supports both AGP and PCI-E on the same board.

The ATi Xpress 200 also looks like an interesting upcoming board.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Garaa, i know Abit makes great mobo's. Im not bashing them at all. I own one of the newest versions. Its built around easy OC, OC and go type of crap. Their windows utility is a freaking hazard. Its really built around the windows utility. They have stupid ratios too. Im just saying for the advanced OC, dont go with a Abit.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 07:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Well thats the thing, I've never really OC"d before, but I can't wait to start trying. I figure I might as well go with DFI, I'm sure if I run into any problems, you guys could probably help me out
__________________

stevedub is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.