How does this sound? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default How does this sound?

Hey

I currently have a piece of crap, and I am going to build a new PC. These are my current specs:

Motherboard: Giga-Byte GA-6VEML
Processor: Intel Celery 1300 MHz overclocked to 1560 MHz
VIA Chipsets
1x 8 MB of Crappy VIA integrated graphics
1x 248 MB of Shared SDRAM DIMM168
1x Unknown wattage of PSU
1x Maxtor 6YLO80 80 Gig HD
1x Slow Floppy Drive
1x LG CD-RW 52x24x52
1x Samsung CD-ROM 48x
Realtek AC'97 2 channel Audio Codec
Realtek Fast Ethernet NIC Adapter
Top Motor CPU Fan and Heatsink Combo.


This is the machine I might be building:

Motherboard: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201660

Case: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=202037

CPU: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200002

Memory: 4 sticks of http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200471

hard Drive: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=202492
And two of these: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200338

SATA DVD-+RW: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201797

CD-RW: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200330

Video Card: Two cards of these http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=202055

Sound Card: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201166

Monitor: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201989

Floppy Drive: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201154

CAse Fan: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200808

CPU Fan/heatsink:http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201302

Speakers: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=201404

Power Supply: http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200854

Fan Controller:http://www.vibecomputers.com/index.c...f=n&vID=200734

Total: $11,957.82 Canadian Bucks.
Well.... what do you think?
__________________

desiboi is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

everyhting looks good other than the ram and the video card. that video card is way overpriced. and you need ram that is not registered and non-ECC
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

What's the difference with a registered and ECC and a not registered and non ECC
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I doubt you'll be building that. Why blow that much money on a computer that is only a little better than one that would cost half as much.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

desiboi, next time just list the name of the hardware. Sounds goods. I would get a better mobo for sure. I suggest Abit and DFI mobos. They built the best high performing mobo's around. All you need is a single 6800 Ultra. Alot of people get the wrong idea about SLI. The graphics themselves stay the same, but lag is grealy reduced. SLI mostly kicks in at high resolution.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

12000,,, id say u spend 3000 and keep the rest...btw thanks for the website, i was looking for a specific case ot be shipped to cnada and they have cheap shiping.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey
Default

I need to build a new one. That one looks good I agree with the DFI MOBO.
__________________
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I so I need to take out one video card and a DFI mobo. SO does every one agree? And what's wrong with Giga-Byte? They aren't good? And yes I will be building that.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

DFI are better, it's worth the extra 100$ when your spending 10g

Also, get G. Skill PC4400 ram, ECC ram is slow and for servers
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_pro...YPE=LP&SITE=US

this any good?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

« Jet 4?? | clock gen »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.