How do you unlock a x800 gto agp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Exclamation How do you unlock a x800 gto agp?

Ok I just bought a Sapphire x800 gto agp 256mb x8 agp 256bit gddr3. It seems pretty good already and I remember people talking about unlocking these. I then found out it is the pci express version, I felt sad. But then I went looking and it seems that agp versions will still unlock but with less of a success rate. I also found that you need to find people that can supply you with the bios flash to unlock the card. Can someone please explain this and if they can supply me with the bios?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 05:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/...ng/vidcard/127

have a look there.

i thought about buying one of these myself and decided i would just wait until dx10 and i didnt wanna risk screwing up my current system.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

YES I DID IT. I set it to a x800xl in bios giving me the 16 pipes and what not but so i wouldnt have to oc if i didnt want to. I ended up hitting 434/1066 because of the crappy r430 core but hey, I just got myself a better card then I bought!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

grats
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
YES I DID IT. I set it to a x800xl in bios giving me the 16 pipes and what not but so i wouldnt have to oc if i didnt want to. I ended up hitting 434/1066 because of the crappy r430 core but hey, I just got myself a better card then I bought!


Pretty sweet man


Congratulations
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Yeah its just now that I have unlocked the card, my ocs went from crap to crusty crap. It went from a stabl 434/1066 to 425/525 about. Any ideas what I can do to this card.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.