How do you short the CMOS battery? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2011, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default How do you short the CMOS battery?

I need to reset my BIOS, and one of the only things so far I can find to complain about my motherboard is that the battery is in a very hard to reach place; I'll have to remove my graphics card and some power cables to get to it if I want to remove it, which will be a royal pain if I have to do it regularly while figuring out my overclock. However, my motherboard guide says I can also short the battery for five seconds. I understand the concept; I need to take two metal objects (I have some pointy screwdriver-ish tools that will work) that crisscross, with each one touching a terminal. My problem is that I don't know which part is the positive and which part is the negative terminal. What am I supposed to be touching?
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: How do you short the CMOS battery?

Best advice anyone can give you.... READ THE MANUAL!!!

Read your mobo booklet and it should give you the jumper configuration for the battery short.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 11:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: How do you short the CMOS battery?

You don't need to even bother with that, there's a 'clear CMOS' button on the back of your motherboard.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: How do you short the CMOS battery?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
You don't need to even bother with that, there's a 'clear CMOS' button on the back of your motherboard.
Would have been in the manual. :P
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 12:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: How do you short the CMOS battery?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract Hero View Post
Best advice anyone can give you.... READ THE MANUAL!!!

Read your mobo booklet and it should give you the jumper configuration for the battery short.
I did, and it doesn't. There isn't a jumper.

I read the entire manual, but that was months ago.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 12:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: How do you short the CMOS battery?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
You don't need to even bother with that, there's a 'clear CMOS' button on the back of your motherboard.
Aaagh! I knew I'd seen that somewhere (months ago, when I read the manual cover-to-cover), but for some reason it wasn't mentioned in the part of the manual next to, well, exactly where it gave me the options of taking out the battery or shorting it. You'd think they'd put it there.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cmos battery Gems48 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 02-20-2005 12:59 PM
removal of cmos battery rookie1010 Overclocking and Modding 8 12-11-2004 07:41 PM
CMOS battery 24giovanni Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 12-01-2004 02:05 AM
CMOS battery 24giovanni Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-25-2004 03:10 AM
cmos battery low linux1880 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 05-20-2004 05:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.