How do you know? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 12:00 AM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Default

The NF7 series models, based on nForce2 chipset, supports the latest AMD Athlon XP processors with 200/266/333 FSB, and features new dual 400MHz DDR memory controllers that deliver up to a 50% increase in bandwidth. Three DDR DIMM slots support up to 3GB of DDR memory

Supported CPU: AMD Duron/Athlon/Athlon XP Processors
Chipset: nForce2 Ultra 400 + MCP-RAID
FSB: 266/333/400MHz
RAM: 3x DIMM Supports Dual channel DDR266/333/400 Max 3GB

The NS7v2 looks like it only supports up tp 333 FSB as opposed to the NS7-S2G at 400 other wise my limited experience can't detect any real difference, but won't the 400 FSB be faster?
__________________

almost2new is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:11 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

newegg does still sell it:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-166&depa=0

I have a 2500+M at 2.5ghz

I hear alot of good things 'bout the 2400+M 35W processors as well....they are o/c'n to 2.5-2.6 depending.
__________________

__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:14 AM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

ABIT "NF7-S" nForce2 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU - Retail


Model# NF7-S V2
Item # N82E16813127166

Specifications:
Supported CPU: AMD Duron/Athlon/Athlon XP Processors
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce2 SPP + MCP-T
FSB: 400/333/266MHz
RAM: 3x DIMM for DDR333/266 Max 3GB, 2x DIMM for DDR400 Max 2GB
IDE: 2x ATA 133 up to 4 Devices
Slots: 1x AGP 8X/4X, 5x PCI
Ports: 2xPS/2,2xCOM,1xLPT,SPDIF Out,6xUSB2.0(Rear 2),1xLAN,Audio Ports
Onboard Audio: nVIDIA SoundStorm APU(Dolby 5.1) + 6-Channel AC97 CODEC
Onboard LAN: 10/100Mbps Fast Ethernet
Onboard SATA/RAID: 2x Serial ATA, RAID 0/1
Onboard 1394: 2 Ports
Form Factor: ATX

It does support 400fsb....so you are fine.....I have this board and my fsb is at 470fsb so dont worry about that it will handle it.
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:01 AM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
I have a 939 3400+ with only a 1 ghz HTT
are you sure it's a 3400+? I know there are 3200+'s and 3500+'s in socket 939, but the only 3400+'s I've seen are in socket 754
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 03:11 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The NF7 series models, based on nForce2 chipset, supports the latest AMD Athlon XP processors with 200/266/333 FSB, and features new dual 400MHz DDR memory controllers that deliver up to a 50% increase in bandwidth. Three DDR DIMM slots support up to 3GB of DDR memory

Supported CPU: AMD Duron/Athlon/Athlon XP Processors
Chipset: nForce2 Ultra 400 + MCP-RAID
FSB: 266/333/400MHz
RAM: 3x DIMM Supports Dual channel DDR266/333/400 Max 3GB

The NS7v2 looks like it only supports up tp 333 FSB as opposed to the NS7-S2G at 400 other wise my limited experience can't detect any real difference, but won't the 400 FSB be faster?
Yeah I actually contacted zipzoomfly about that, it IS the v2 board with 400FSB support, trust me I just e-mailed their tech support and suggest they update it and they confirmed to me it is infact the version 2.0 board and it indeed does support 400FSB

You won't be able to overclock with the -S2 or -S2G series board dude, that's why they are worthless for overclocking.

That's crazy mike...I just tried looking not too long ago and it wouldn't come up at all on their site =/ Nice to know it's still there though

EDIT: It's $5 cheaper on zipzoomfly though PLUS you get free 2nd day shipping whereas newegg is $2.99 so that basically makes it $8 cheaper at zipzoomfly
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:10 AM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Abit's seem to be good for overclocking also
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:23 AM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Cool So the motherboard issue is pretty well settled,and the cpu is up to my pocketbook. Is there a particular brand of RAM that I should look for or stay away from I heard that they don't always work well mixings brands, so i want some thing that I can add too as cash allows. I was thinking start w/ 1 1gb stick and add from there. Also they board has on board audio and lan can you work a stand alone audio card w/it? Thanks for the input
almost2new is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:30 AM   #38 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
are you sure it's a 3400+? I know there are 3200+'s and 3500+'s in socket 939, but the only 3400+'s I've seen are in socket 754
Grr it saved as a .png but whatever

http://img200.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img200&image=cpu0bl.png
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:43 AM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that's interesting.......
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 12:59 AM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

EDIT: It's $5 cheaper on zipzoomfly though PLUS you get free 2nd day shipping whereas newegg is $2.99 so that basically makes it $8 cheaper at zipzoomfly

________________________________________________

Very good point Nubius I should have ordered it from zipzoomfly
__________________

__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.