How do you know? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Default How do you know?

I realize that comparing AMD vs Pentium is a bit like apples and oranges but, there has to be a simple way for a rookie like me to compare the general speed for comparison shopping ie: P42.6 ghz is approximatelty equal to AMD ?? I know just enough about computers and building them to cause myself grief and I am looking for some good input. I am looking to build something for digital photo use and building web pages I am not (no offense intended) a gamer.
__________________

almost2new is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would say the P4 2.6GHz is equal to AMDAthlon 2600+ - 2800+
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 287
Default

Welll with my experience i have to say that AMD outperforms Intel. AMD just seems to speed things up better than intel. You can have a fast intel processor but it will still feel like an old i486 when you open some applications.
__________________
\"Today\'s scientists have substituted mathematics for experiments, and they wander off through equation after equation, and eventually build a structure which has no relation to reality.\" Nikola Tesla
gab00n is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

also amd is cheaper as the cpu and motherboard is about £20 more expensive each if not more.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Almost2new, Intel is alot better then AMD when dealing with Applications. This has everything to do with Intels architecture. But AMD is ideal for gaming, witch also has everything to do with its architecture. Neither one offers better processors then another. Just for what your dealing with.

So for you, i suggest a Intel processor. I dont know how much money you have to spend. But this would be a great processor for you.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-184&depa=1
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

bah you dont need an intel for digital photography... go amd

if id consider an intel it would be for like cad and stuff like that which is really instensive
Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You can generally compare the two based on AMD's rating system. For example, a 2500+ is estimated to perform at about the same level as a 2.5Ghz Intel proccesor.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

^^ditto.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 03:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Even though amd confuses us with there model designations, are you sayng that an amd with a lower mhz rating can peform better than an intel of a higher mhz rating . That just dont make sense to me. Sounds more like a marketing scheme. But I am speaking from lack of experience.
geekster is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Trust me dude, it's not marketing scheme, otherwise you would totally have to ignore the opinions of all of the people here who build and test different systems, as well as benchmarks.

AMD has changed their core architechture and shortened their pipelines, while Intel has kept the same long pipelines. This means that AMD can use a lower frequency to achieve high speeds, while Intel is really just left with the option to increase clock speeds.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.