How do you enable open case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2008, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default How do you enable open case?

I believe thats what I need to turn on for me to switch the Voltage and whatnot.

BTW I turned off EIST and CIE and my VId is: 1.312
With my highest temps (currently overclocked at 2.8)
29
31
28
32
Cpu 29

(they are preety much the same when I dint overclocked.)

My question is, How far can I go? and how do enable open case?
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: How do you enable open case?

wth is open case?

if your voltages are locked, you either need to enable advanced settings or you have a bios that doesn't allow voltage changes... ?
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: How do you enable open case?

Just, no...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: How do you enable open case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Just, no...
Lol

Open case is probably referring to an Alarm or Alert that will message any time the computer is turned on with the case open. You adjust voltages basically in the same section of the BIOS that you adjusted the FSB. The are usually all together in the same neat little place. Look for FSB Voltage and Vcore or something similar and you will probably have to change Vcore from "Auto" to something closer to 1.4v

You have a rather high VID I think for a Q6600, but I could be thinking in comparison to my Q9450 which has a 1.21 VID.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
A new case. andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-14-2007 01:59 AM
Almost final computer build needs reviewing + case suggestions Shinzen New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-12-2007 05:57 AM
how to open a vcproj file michael535 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-07-2007 08:07 AM
Computer shutting down without an open case and external fan Rodex123 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-30-2007 11:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.