How do you actully make a case? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2005, 07:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
if wood was used, id imagine you would only beable to use like Plywood or a similar pressur treated wood for the frame. otherwise i dont think wood that thin would be durable enough.
Plywood would look like crap if using for a case,If we use OAK it would probably be 3/4 inch,So after your done building it the thing would weigh in at about 30 pound's But i don't care about the weight since it will just be sitting in one spot.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 09:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Plywood would look like crap if using for a case,If we use OAK it would probably be 3/4 inch,So after your done building it the thing would weigh in at about 30 pound's But i don't care about the weight since it will just be sitting in one spot.
i dont know what your motive is, but this maybe easyer....

thy have this stuff like wall paper( i dont know what its called, cause i never used it) at proll anyhardware store, its used to simulate a wood surface, u know like decales are used for cars. with that u could just stick it onto a normal aluminum case, if all u wont it to do is look like wood.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

im planning a wood case, ill keep you updated on the news.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 04:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

jolancer that's alright if you want your case looking like a 1970's station wagon, My "motive" is to have a case made from REAL wood,If done properly it would be every bit as functional as a regular case but look twice as good
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 05:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

if i was going to make a case, id make it look really nice, give it a good finish, mabye oil it. Id have spots for like 8 fans (3 back, 3 front, 1 in drive bay, one in side) have a side panel that opens up with hinges etc. Have 6 drive bays.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I made a wooden case for my computer, and my case was smaller than the metal case the computer origonaly came in. and it didnt weigh much either.
__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

Lol, if that thing catches on fire (fire hazard, heat and all), youre screwed.
__________________
My new puter

Athlon XP-M 2500+ AQYHA
Abit NF7-S
512mb HyperX
6600GT XFX
Antec superlanboy
420W Thermaltake PSU
Lite-On combo CDRW-DVD drive

3dmark 05: 3091
3dmark 03: 7589
bunnymanboy is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

wooden cases are alot more popular than you might think...

http://www.voidedwarranty.com/review...s/Dsc01092.jpg
http://www.exoticwoodcrafts.com/images/Img237.jpg
http://www.trickedoutcomputer.com/ca...utburlcase.gif

basically just google "wooden pc cases" or something.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 08:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

I think the last one is stick on..
__________________
My new puter

Athlon XP-M 2500+ AQYHA
Abit NF7-S
512mb HyperX
6600GT XFX
Antec superlanboy
420W Thermaltake PSU
Lite-On combo CDRW-DVD drive

3dmark 05: 3091
3dmark 03: 7589
bunnymanboy is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 08:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bunnymanboy
I think the last one is stick on..
might be lol...looks like a sticker. didn't notice that one.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.